Spicy Cranberry Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I loved it . Not very difficult to make , and really unique tastes . Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Delhi, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Dropped the ginger and pepper flakes. Used half of an orange for the zest and the juice. I'm making this on a Saturday before Thanksgiving so I didn't want the flavors of the pepper and ginger to overpower the taste by sitting for so many days. It tastes amazing! I let the cranberries burst. I may chop the apple into a finer dice next time. I covered with plastic and refrigerated it; should be awesome for a make-ahead dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John R. Nall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Good, but I might add some diced jalapeno instead of the red pepper flakes. It didn't have as much kick as I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is definitely a five star recipe. I usually do not change a recipe the first time I make it, however I did use orange juice instead of water. I made a double recipe to give as gifts with a wheel of brie and a sleeve of crackers. Everyone loves it! I also found the ginger to add a wonderful flavor as well as the little bit of heat from the pepper. Don't change this recipe except for the orange juice. Oh, I did cook it longer to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I left out the red pepper and used alot less ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Like others, I cut the ginger in half and used orange juice instead of water. I did not add sugar. I enjoyed it, but others found it a little overpowering. Would further reduce ginger next time as I made it a day before and had leftovers the day after and by then, the flavour had further intensified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is good but was a little too spicy for my taste. I think I'll cut back a bit on the red pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
OMG - is this delicious! I made this twice - once for Thanksgiving dinner and a second time to can and give as gifts. It is fantastic with brie, havarti or monterey jack cheese (I also made panini). My friends loved receiving jars for Christmas and have all said this is the BEST thing they've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
no one in my family really like this...too much ginger and no one liked how spicy it was. It was fun to cook! and the idea is nice. But it was a no for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made in my bread machine on the jam setting, and tossed in the ginger/lemon etc in when there was 3 minutes remaining and let it do all the work. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States