Spicy Couscous with Dates Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by melodee
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was really really good but I had to make some substitutions because of ingredients I didn't have. I used scant 1/2 tsp anise powder instead of the pods, about a tsp salt, 1 1/2 tsp minced garlic, 1 whole red bell pepper chopped, just a pinch of black pepper, 3/4 cup sliced mushrooms (they really do give it a wonderful flavor), 1/3 cup chopped dates, and used chicken stock instead of vegetable. I also used about a tsp Sriracha hot sauce instead of the dried pepper because I couldn't find any and it gave it just the right amount of spice. I also had to add about 2 more T of oil after adding the mushrooms, etc because it would have been too dry. YUM *edit* by the way this makes around 4 servings, not 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Wow, delicious. This is my first attempt at making couscous and couldn't have found a better recipe to try. I only made three minor changes; I cooked red instead of green bell peppers, and used 1/2 cup of dates for more sweetness, and omitted the dried peppers since I was hoping my little toddler would eat some too. I am already looking forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
For the most part, this is a great site and I have gotten many great recipes from it. That being said, there are a small number of recipes, this one included, where not only do I not understand how it achieved 5 stars, but I literally cannot fathom how ANYONE would give this 5 stars. My father and I made it EXACTLY as written (we even went to a Chinese market to buy star anise). What does it taste like? It tastes like couscous with onions and mushrooms and a little sweetness. Nothing interesting about it and you couldn't taste the dates, the star anise or the vegetable stock. It was alot of trouble for a bland dinner. One more thing, star anise pods become like little pieces of plastic floating around in the dish and they are almost impossible to pick out until you have the unfortunate occasion to bite into one. The only reason I'm giving this 2 stars instead of 1 is because I do like couscous with onions and mushrooms :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I love this recipe. It's easy and fast and you can change it up depending on what you have in the kitchen. I can never find whole anise so I have always used fennel. I also add either raisins or chopped, dried, apricots in addition to the dates. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Substituted some red curry paste for chilies and added a zucchini and a can of kidney beans. Left out the lemon juice and pepper (personal preferences.) It was wonderful! Tip: Cut the dates lengthwise to remove pits easily before chopping. Don't forget to remove the star anise pods before eating. More vegetable broth may be needed to get the couscous consistency you desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Wow! This stuff is delicious. Quite the wild array of flavors and spices. I would recommend much more cinnamon and more anise but besides that puuuuurfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
"A food so nice they named it twice!" :) The rave reviews for this dish initially sold me. I gave the couscous a whirl, and was in awe of the superb mix of flavors. It reminds me of a Southern Mexico stew that combines many of the same flavors- cinnamon, anise, hot peppers, dates (they also add boiled eggs and potatoes!). The sugar from the dates nicely caramelized the rest of the veggies near the end of the cooking process. The warming spices are perfect for the coming cold months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Fantastic recipe. I just use Clic brand couscous spices and a little bit of chili paste instead of assembling the spices on this list. Very versatile; you can use any vegetables you might have in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Really liked this - it was a good blend of spicy and sweet. Like others have done, I added 1 zucchini. I would also increase the amount of dates the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Beautiful recipe, very easy. I added some squash and, like other reviewers, added the stock and couscous into the same pot the vegetables were in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States