Spicy Couscous with Dates Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
pretty good, next time i would definitely add more dates, and more spice and some other veggies. This dish is a great base to work from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This is really delicious. I used one of those large dried red peppers like you see hanging in bunches, seeds and all. It was very spicy, but we like things spicy. I used about twice the amount of mushrooms called for, just because I had some on hand I needed to use up. Like one of the other reviewers, I just added the broth to the sauted veggies, brought it to a low boil then stirred in the couscous. Cover and remove from heat, ready in 5 minutes. Next time I make this, I plan to add some zucchini to the veggies already called for. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This is really tasty. I only did 3 dried red peppers and it was still plenty spicy. Also added a carrot sliced thinly and a can of garbanzo beans as the veggies were simmering. My only complaint is that the couscous itself didn't have much flavor. Perhaps adding a little butter or a soft cheese would do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
My son's girlfriend is a vegetarian so I am always looking for new recipes to try. This recipe was perfect. We loved it exactly as is. It was perfect leftover for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This was fantastic! However, I made a couple of substitutions for personal taste and convenience. I used 2 whole fresh chilies (about 3 inches long) in place of the dried ones and substituted zucchini for the mushrooms for some additional nutrition (and also because zucchini is what I had on hand). In the final step, I added the vegetable stock directly to the veggie mixture, brought to a slow boil, added the couscous, covered the pan, removed it from the heat and let it sit for 5 minutes. It looked beautiful and tasted magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obituary mambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This recipe was just okay for me. A little bland and not great for a vegetarian main dish, which is what I used it for. I didn't really enjoy eating the leftovers for lunch the next day which is unusual for me. I folled the recipe exactly. If I would ever make this again I would add chick peas for protein and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I had to change this recipe a bit because I was missing ingredients, but what I came up with was incredible. I did not use mushrooms and I did not use red peppers only because I was serving pita and red pepper hummus with this dish. Then I used dry cayenne pepper flakes instead of whole peppers. It was a great meal and the family felt good that it was fairly healthy too. Two thumbs up here. Oh yeah I didn't have dates either so I used raisins instead. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Excellent! Has that spicy and sweet taste. Made it for a small get together and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
amazing dish! I would also say, in regards to the previous rating, that I would give this a 6 star rating if I could. I did change something important though. I didn't have any anise on hand so I used a small amount of coursely chopped fennel seeds instead. I haven't had it with the anise, but with the fennel it was grand. This is also a recipe that can be made ahead of time and quickly reheated in the oven. Watch the time on the covered simmering couscous, it barely takes the 3 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This has fast become one of my favorite dishes...so delicious. I serve it with a roasted sweet potatoe. If you cannot tolerate very spicy foods, then lessen the dried pepper to what you feel you can handle. It comes out very spicy. I used crimini mushrooms, they are meatier then the white button. I'd give this 6 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States