Spicy Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
GREAT recipe, but I would change a few things next time. I used 3 slices of turkey bacon and it still overpowered the greens. Also, it only took about 15-20 minutes (on high) for the greens to soften. I added a splash of sugar to help with the bitterness. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I pretty much do mine like this but I add about a tablespoon of sugar to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I used 16oz of mixed greens, and turkey bacon. It came out OK, but I'm not big on greens. I'm trying. Mike didn't even touch them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I used a 16oz bag of frozen turnip greens in place of the bunch of collards. The other change I made was to add 2 packets of splenda to try and counteract the bitterness frozen greens tend to have. Really really yummy. Will use this for the rest of the greens in my freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by gabrielglimpse
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
So easy. I found that the moisture from rinsing the greens was ample to cook the greens. After cooking the bacon (and removing half of the grease) I placed the greens into the skillet with the other ingredients and simmered until tender. I served these on new years day with "slow cooker spicy black-eyed peas" submited by MJ46NY. A delicious combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabrielglimpse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Enjoyed the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This was my first time cooking collard greens and they came out great! Even my 9 year old loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
Very easy and just as good as my mom-in-laws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This is a GREAT, simple recipe! In fact, I made my New Year's greens last year using this recipe and, when I wanted to make them again this year, realized I had lost the recipe! Thankfully, I've found it and will keep it this time. As one of the true "GRITS" (Girls Raised in the South), I can honestly say this is one of the best recipes for good Southern-style greens I've found! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States