Spicy Coconut and Lime Grilled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Let me tell you... I never, I mean NEVER ever want to eat any other kind of shrimp other than these again! OMG! They are utterly delicious! I did change it slightly... I was having a party consisting of 50+ people coming so I had to up the quantities. Upon reading other reviews, I made the following changes... I used 6 pounds of shrimp, 9 jalapenos, 5 large lime (just the juice, I guess in my rush, I didn't remember to zest them), 7 heaping tablespoons minced garlic, 2 cups fresh cilantro, 2 cups sweetened shredded coconut, 1 cup oil & 1 cup soy sauce. I also added one can of coconut milk to the mix. Zipped everything through my food processor and marinated the shrimp for 3-4 hours. My marinade was not thick but it was chunky and when I skewered them, I made sure I didn't shake anything off of them, so what stuck to the shrimp stayed on the shrimp. Hubby grilled them up and these were cleared out in no time at all! Even my husbands family who usually doesn't comment on the food was asking what was in them! That tells me something... Yum! I can't wait to eat these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I made this for a couple of my girlfriends...and they loved it. I used coconut milk instead of shredded. I also added some chipolte powder, an Anaheim pepper because I only had one jalapeno, and a touch of agave nectar. very tasty:>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I made this recipe for my mother, sister and very picky nephew who all loved it. I only used about 1/8 cup of soy sauce and the flavor was still a little strong, so next time I would cut back on that. I'd strongly suggest adding some kind of chili powder for a little more flavor. Also, I made a 2nd batch of marinade and added 1/4 cup mayo to use as a dipping sauce that ended up being a huge hit. I was a little disappointed that the coconut flavor did not stand out at all against the heavy lime and cilantro, but that was probably my own fault for not using fresh coconut. Still a delicious dish that will definitely become a regular at BBQs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This dish is amazing! I did alter it a bit however... added 1/3 cup of lime juice, 2 tbs of coconut milk, 1 tbs cayenne pepper, 2 tbs chili powder. When grilling poured some of the extra marinade onto the shrimp, the grill almost toasted the coconut which was great. Then served up the last bit of the extra marinade as a dipping sauce, was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe; the marinade has a good flavor. I'm not a huge soy fan, so I cut back on it just a tad. I was a bit disappointed (no fault to the recipe) that my jalapenos didn't offer much heat so I'll be sure to taste them beforehand next time. I'll definitely make these again - tasty and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Sellers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This is an absolutely amazing recipe! I did make one modification, however. Instead of including the jalepenos, I opted for serrano peppers. My family was literally salivating for more after they tore through them. I loved it. I think I'll use this dish as a reward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Very good, but ended up pretty salty. I'll use low sodium soy sauce next time. This can be used as a side dish or use larger shrimp and make it a main course. I altered this recipe using half the amount of jalapenos and used thyme instead of cilantro (as I am not a fan.) Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This marinade is really delicious! I didn't have jalepenos, so just added a bit of sriracha and that gave it are really nice kick and I highly recommend that addition to anyone looking for more heat in the dish. I also had some coconut milk which I also added and I think it gave it a stronger coconut flavor than had I only used shredded coconut. This recipe is also very successful in a pan. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This is a fantastic (and fantastically easy) recipe. The only thing I changed was to set aside a few tablespoons of the marinade to brush on while grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I had to make on substitution as i didn't have any jalapeno in, just habanero!!!it was warm ;-) other than that I followed the directions and used 1/2 the ingredients it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States