Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
My husband and I loved this dish. We like spicy food so we added extra peppers and used the hot red curry paste. It added extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stirring up Trouble
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This was so easy and fabulous. However, I doubled the curry paste and the jalapenos because I like it really spicy. However, even doubling it wasn't too much and others that don't care for too spicy that it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was great. Everyone I shared it with loved it.The only thing i did different was I added some cayanne red pepper to it for a little more heat.I will definatly be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Holy Cow, this was great! I had a 6oz can of Lump Crab, so I tossed that in at the same time as the Shrimp. Upped the curry paste to taste. In the future I intend to experiment with adding Mussels and Scallops too. Thanks for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
A creamy and very delightful soup. Made as written except as follows: subbed 3/4 lb. shrimp & 3/4 lb. sea scallops for 1 lb. shrimp, subbed seafood stock for water, doubled the red curry paste, and omitted the rice crackers and sliced basil. We did not remove the seeds from the jalapeno pepper which gave it a welcome hint of heat that was well within our tolerance zone. At this juncture, there are 4 other reviews. All but one mention adding ingredients to give more ‘heat’ to the soup (e.g., doubling the jalapenos or adding cayenne pepper). We would be comfortable with it but I can see where that may disappoint some folks, especially with children . . . taste as you go and only add more if sure you want it hotter. Another very good recipe, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Loved it!! I will play around with this recipe. Oh the endless possibilities!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deliah Prescott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarinda, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
this was VERY good. I was unsure how how hot the Thai red Pepper paste would be, so I bought the mild paste, gave it lots of flavor. You can get all the flavours without a lot of heat doing this. The paste came in a packet in the Asian part of supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
My brother and I both proclaimed this as the best soup we've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
So easy to make and tastes amazing. The only thing I did different was I doubled the curry paste. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This recipe is stupendous... Thought I'd give it a shot despite the fact that not many people had rated it. It's wonderful. Chef John scores again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasTon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States