Spicy Chipotle Grilled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this recipe for the first time for a 4th of July last year. It was a winner and I made several batches becuse it became a regular request for the rest of the cookouts during tht e summer of 2010. I was looking for this again so I can use it today because of the beautiful weather here in Florida. Wonderful flavor and great reason to get together with friends and family. I use the recipe basically as is except for the marinating time. I always get shrimp when it is on sale. I purchase at least 10 lbs in two pound portions. When I get home I make the marinade x5 and place each portion of marinade in gallon zip lock freezer bags. I place the shrimp in the marinade and freeze making sure they are laying flat so they freeze into a flat sheet of goodness. When I know I will be needing one of these, I place it in the refrigerator to thaw. During the thawing process they merinade and I cut down on my prep time because I already did this ahead of time. Happy cooking and thanks for this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Amazing recipe. I didn't have a grill nearby so I baked them at 425 for about 10 minutes. I also cooked some spanish rice along with and then served as burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lmcirig
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Made 6lbs as an appetizer a large party, served COLD. It was excellent & so much easier for a crowd because it was made the day before. Served with Amy's Cilantro dip. Everyone loved this, I even got calls the next day about it. EDIT: Per another reviewers advice I froze a portion of this to use another day. It did not taste the same. MUCH better fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA
Living In: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flaglady
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I made this for our appetizer on Memorial Day, since we were doing everything on the BBQ. I don't do fish OR spicy, but my family does. I put in half the amount of red pepper flakes, and let it marinate for little over an hour.......have to say they are AWESOME, my family can't wait until next weekend so we can have them again, thanks for sharing!! I was also happy to take a picture and post it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flaglady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
By far the best shrimp I have ever made. Followed recipe exactly except cut in half. Will use this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
this is the best shrimp recipe ever...it is our favorite go to for shrimp tacos! the only change i make is to use 1 t. plain paprika, 1 t. sweet smoked and 1 t. hot smoked! to die for! put on corn tortillas with choice of toppings, salsa and feta cheese! you wont be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Yummy, yummy! Prepared exactly as written and these were a huge hit! Not a ton of liquid in this recipe, so don't overcook, and brush with a little butter/lemon towards the end of cooking time or serve with a sauce for some moisture. Really loved these, Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
If you like shrimp and you like spicy chipotle you will LOVE this recipe. I had a bag of frozen shrimp and some chipotles that I had leftover and frozen from a previous recipe. This was easy to do and so tasty. Didn't change the recipe at all except for adding some extra chipotles because I didn't want to refreeze them. We chopped up the shrimp to use in tacos. I threw some more cilantro on top with chopped red onions then gave them a squeeze of lime juice- YUM! My husband loved this meal and asked for it again already. I'll have to cut back on the chipotles to make it kid friendly, but this one is a winner. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
We all like spicy food in our house and are always looking for new spicy recipes.we used yours at our 4th of July BBQ and they were a big hit. We defintely will be using this recipe again and I thinking can even use this marinade on steak, chicken, or fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA
Living In: Broad Channel, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These were quite possibly the best shrimp I've ever had. They were super HOT the night I made them -- I might cut back on the cayenne pepper next time. When we ate them as leftovers with black beans and rice, however, the heat level was perfect. I'd definitely suggest the beans -- I think they cut down on the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

These easy shrimp have lots of flavor and a great little “kick.”

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

See how to turn tilapia filets into tasty marinated fish tacos.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States