Spicy Chipotle Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I cut the recipe in half from 20 to 10 servings and I used chicken stock instead of the veggie base/water. Garnished it with cilantro and crumbled bacon and it was very good. Spicy yes but it is supposed to be. I will make this again and Happy New Year 2010!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written and we all LOVED it! Yes, it is spicy...but that should be expected as the description DOES say it's very spicy (honestly, have you ever had a chipotle pepper that wasn't)? This was an excellent dish to have on a very cold day. Even my picky 14 year old daughter ate it up! I would not change a thing with this recipe and urge you to try it if you like spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nichele
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
The carrots totally ruined this for me, they made it too sweet, will try again without the carrots, and add more garlic and chipotle , a cheese garnish would be good, creative idea , but it needs tweeking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Came across this recipe last year when I was looking to expand my vegetarian cooking capabilities. I remember it being so spicy, I could hardly eat it. I made it again this year with a few adjustments. I cut the recipe in half, then I doubled or tripled all the veggies. I did not pre-cook the veggies, I just threw everything into the crock pot, because I was short on time, and a few hours in a crock pot will turn them into mush anyway. I put in only half of the "better than bouillon soup base - as it has a lot more sodium than the nutritional info in the recipe seems to imply. I crushed two big cloves of garlic, and chopped up only about 3 chipotle peppers from the can, and added them and whatever sauce was sticking on them into the crock pot. (Two large and one smaller one.) I'd say that the majority of Americans would still find the result to be quite spicy. Be careful with those chipotle peppers and Adobo sauce! I guess I was not supposed to soak the black-eyed peas overnight, so the result is a little soupier than expected, and was ready more quickly than the recipe states. But that worked out well, because I skipped lunch, so I was hungry early. And it was yummy-licious, and I'll have to make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
My husband likes this, but it's too spicy hot for me and I only added two chipotle peppers, and none of the sauce. Very smoky flavor. If you like that sort of thing, and heat, then this is for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I made this and combined some elements from CB"s Black Eyed Peas. Everyone Loveed them Yea :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Donis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We love we had this tonight and it was great! I made some additions of jalapeno instead of Adobe because I didn't have any. I also added spinach, roasted diced tomatoes, kale, potato. It was soon good along with homemade cheese bread. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcavalli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Too few veg and too much chipotle. The heat overwhelmed every other flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States