Spicy Chinese Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This is a simple and fuss-free way of cooking chicken wings. All the marinating ingredients can be found in most kitchens. The result is very tasty too! I substituted white wine for the rice wine and used 2-3 tablespoons of soy sauce instead of half a cup. I also used a little corn starch to thicken the gravy at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These were fantastic! They have a really good, kind of tangy flavor. I had to make a few changes. First, I used tenderloins instead of wings, because that’s what I had on hand. I also omitted the sesame oil (allergies) and used Tabasco® Garlic Pepper Sauce (that’s probably not the same sauce used in the recipe). I reduced the sauce before I put it on the chicken. I put the chicken in a foil-lined pan, covered it with the sauce, and baked for 25 minutes. It turned out very juicy and delightful. An excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I was looking for an Asian inspired recipe for wings, and chose this because I had all the ingredients on hand. I decided to change the preparation mainly because I think marinating provides a deeper flavor. I started with almost 3 pounds of wings(tips removed) and placed them in zip-lock bag. I mixed the sauce ingredients in the amounts stated (plenty) and mixed into the wings. Refrigerated overnite. Preheat oven to 425. Cover shallow baking pan with foil and coat with cooking spray. Drain marinade and pat wings dry. Arrange on baking sheets and place in hot oven for 20-25 min. turning half-way through. I then basted wings with 1/2 C. (or as needed)bottled BBQ sauce with 1-2 T. of chili-garlic sauce mixed in. Back into oven for 5 min or until brown and gooey. They were delicious and clean-up was effortless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWAN22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was way too salty! I ended up omitting the soy sauce and substituting honey instead. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancerini
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
These were really very good. A nice change from buffalo wings. Mild spice level. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was easy to make & my family loved it! I didn't have chili garlic sauce. Instead, I used a little chili paste, red pepper flakes & garlic powder because that is what I had. I used only two tbls. of lite soy sauce & a splash of fish sauce & ground ginger. I made these few changes based on the previous reviews which I ALWAYS read first. This can be made as hot as you'd like. I served it with rice on the side. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This tasted great, but it was too salty, and I used half the recommended LOW SODIUM soy sauce. Next time I'm using only a few tablespoons of the soy sauce, more rice vinegar (I didn't have rice wine) and a little less chili garlic sauce. But, even without these changes the it was still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nineveh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
The flavor and taste of these were wonderful. We will defintly make again. I did mine a little different. I really wanted to try this but only had chicken tenders so used that instead of wing. I marinated them for about 4-5 hours; then took out of the marinate and coated lightly in flour and fried them up. Super good and so easy. We love General Tso; its nice and crispy so wanted to get the same effect. My husband could not stop saying how much he liked the taste and flavor that were in these. Served with homemade shrimp fried rice. Great combo. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carousel-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Made these for Super Bowl and they were a big hit. I followed the recipe exactly and they were gone in minutes. Thanks for posting the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I tweaked the recipe a little, but it turned out great! Would have been better if I had marinated ahead of time or threw it all in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Whelan Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States