Spicy Chili French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Great flavor and spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
These are great. They're not supposed to be particularly crispy, but in order to insure maximum crispiness: Skip the water soaking step. That's to keep them from turning grey, which, after you add all the red stuff--they won't look grey. So skip that. I reduced my amount of oil and V-8 (spicy variety) til the total amount for this recipe was 1/3c. of liquid (not 1/2 c. as recipe would have it). Spray your pan with Pam, and spray the tops of your taters with Pam--both times. Don't skip the step where you flip them, that is ESSENTIAL in oven fries. You haven't got to flip them precisely, but you DO need to move them around on the sheet, or else they'll cook unevenly and any shot you had at crispness is gone. I also reduced the cayenne pepper and left out the salt (the V-8 has plenty for me.) Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
These knocked our socks off! I changed the method a little, but not the ingredients, due to lack of time. I skipped the 10 min water soak (which would remove some surface starch) and then put them in my convection/microwave oven on fast bake. After ~15 minutes, I put them under the broiler to brown them up... for about 5 minutes, then stirred them up (they weren't in a single layer cause there were too many for the pan) and broiled 5 minutes longer. They never got crispy, which is not a big surprise with a liquid seasoning, but they were HUGE on flavor and DH commented several times: "wow, these fries are killer!!" I served them with the Green Chili Chicken Sandwiches from this site and it was a fine meal! Next time, I will make them the long way to compare results. Thanks for a great recipe! UPDATE: Since the fries never got crisp, even under the broiler, I decided to try something different: I mixed up the dry ingredients, deep fried the potatoes (twice to make them crisp) and then sprinkled the dry ingredients over the potatoes and mixed to distribute the spices evenly. With a 1/4 C. oil added to the original mixture, I can't imagine that frying them would use much more, if any, than that. My deep fryer is very good and the oil is 375* which allows little oil to be absorbed or cling to the fries. We liked this version even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
My husband loves this!!! He's a potato lover and these hit the spot for him!! I did not however have chili powder so I used paprika and no veg juice so i got half of a small can of tomato sauce and added a bit of water to it. I greased my sheet with Pam and increased the oven temp to 400F and they were SCRUMPTIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie_dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altadena, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
The whole family loved these yummy fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaandTrinity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
These fries were a big hit. They are packed with flavor. I did as another reviewer suggested and fried them in a deep fryer. I whisked together the oil, spicy vegetable juice and about 3/4 of the spice mix and let them sit for about 10 minutes. I fried the potatoes in 350 degree oil. At 375 degrees they browned too quickly before the inside was done. Then I sprinkled the remaining spice mix onto the fries after I drained them. I added a bit more salt. Fantastic. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Collector

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These are a huge hit in my house! I make skinny fries, don't soak and put the oven to 400 degrees. Other than that I follow directions and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I took this recipe to another level; I used sweet potatoes! EXCELLENT! The marinade is very yummy, and I'm looking for other applications for this marinade. Next time I might use Snap-E-Tom for the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parrotheadTink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Paula, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
The fries were great. I used the left over liquid as a marinade for my burgers which also turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chittenango, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I thought they were tasty!!! Although I had no veg. juice cocktail so I used about 1/4 cup of tomato sauce. ( one of those super small cans they sell and then just freeze the rest for next time! ) Would be a good aptz for a tail gait party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States