Spicy Chili French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I didn't care mush for the water, because they were a little mushy. I have heard that most of the nutrients in the potatoe, is in the skin. So I tried another batch leaving the skin on, but washing very thoroughly and left the water out and they turned out a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotrod824

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
making them crispy--i disagree with the person who says not to soak. we make oven fries frequently and the soaking helps tremendously. the key is to get them COMPLETEY DRY, not just patting dry. parchment paper helps, too, as does higher oven temps. using less liquid in the recipe helped for me--i just used 1T olive oil with the tomato juice (blood mary mix is AWESOME INSTEAD!!!) and it worked much better when i tried it this way than the 1/4 cup oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
i loved these, I actually like my fries to be mushy or soft BUT if you want them crispier don't use as much olive oil and tomato juice but you will have to flip them more often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christyana Burch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
These were wonderful. Quite possibly the best home made fries I've made. I did cook them a little longer than called for so they would crisp up a little. Definitely a recipe I'll use for something different over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Great recipe! I didn't have the vegetable juice so I used ketchup. Worked out great. I like my fries crunchy so I baked at 425 degrees F for 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsF3
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
We used my spiral slicer and made these into curly fries! They were pretty thin, so we ended cooking them only about half as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Very good recipe. We especially enjoyed the spiciness. We doubled the ingredients due to extra potatoes and it worked great. Although they were very good, they would maybe be a little better if you were to add some nacho cheese. Other than this minor detail, they were very good. All in all, if you like to live on the edge, try these Spicy Chili French Fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Stanberry, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I just tried this recipe and it was very good except for the fact that they are believably spicy, and I love spicy food and usually don't have a problem with cayenne pepper, but with this recipe I strongly recommend using a 1/4 a teaspoon of cayenne pepper! Other than that they were excellent. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lundy245

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Everyone raved about these fries! I skipped soaking in water to make them a bit more crispy. Great side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
didn't alter the ingredients at all.. felt it could have used less salt.. cooked these on the grill.. 20 on each side was a bit much but only b/c we ran hotter on the grill.. felt it could have used something more but still enjoyed it.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States