Spicy Chile Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I usually don't go for enchilada casseroles but I was pressed for time and had all the ingredients on hand. I used cream of chicken instead of flour and milk and used tostadas instead of tortillas. I drained the tomato/chili juice but kept the juice from the green chilis. It was delicious and even my food critic husband enjoyed it. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Came out great. Some suggestions: you can easily forego the white sauce prep by substituting Mexican crema from the grocery store. Definitely "blister" the tortillas (fry on both sides in a few drops of oil) until a little browned and puffed. The flavor and texture of the finished dish will be 100% better. I added 3 tbls. Parmesan cheese to the white sauce. Also make certain to taste the white sauce to ensure that it has enough salt and black pepper. I served with beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikkor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This was delicious. I didn't have tomatoes or chiles so I substituted salsa. Husband said definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wenonah, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was really good! Had some chicken we had boiled the night before in boullion (however you spell it) and seasoned with onion powder, garlic powder & pepper. Was looking for something to do with it besides chicken & dumplings & found this recipe. Used Rotel with lime & cilantro & didn't have any green chiles but used hot cherry peppers instead. Added a teaspoon of garlic because we like it and about a tsp of kosher salt. Put some crushed tortilla chips on the bottom of the dish & layered as instructed with the addition of cheese in the middle. Man, it was mmm mmm good! Just enough kick to make it interesting & not overly spicy. Thanks for posting this, Beverly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vodkagimlet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I used cream of chicken soup instead of four and broth. Also add some sour cream, taco seasoning, a little tabasco sauce. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Anderson-Gibson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
The sauce never got thick for me so was really runny when finished. Wouldnt make again. Kind of bland even with chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Gontarek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
YUM! I loved this. I like it better than enchilladas. I added cayenne pepper and it still wasn't what I would call spicy, but it was delicious. Next time I might use salsa instead of tomatoes for extra flavor. It seems like a lot of tortillas when you're assmbling it, but don't use less - you really need them all. And pile on the cheese! This recipe is a bit of work, but should get easier and faster with repetition. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I think it will be on regular rotation in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Excellent casserole with low calories. It turned out spicier than I thought it would be, but we like spicy so it was perfect! Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I thought this recipe is great for a healthy alternative to some of the other Mexican casserole dishes on this site. I didn't have any problem with the texture or the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassLeeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Loved this! After reading other reviews, made only minor changes. I only used a half cup of chicken broth, drained the tomatoes first, and added some Cal-Mex seasoning (from World Market). I was worried when I took it out that it was going to be soupy, but it was only a little messy. LOVED the flavor, great spice. Will be added to the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States