Spicy Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I followed this recipe nearly to a T and it was real, real delicious. The only substitutions I made were that I swapped out red beans for kidney beans and can of corn for frozen (because that's what I had on hand). There was a decent amount of prep work involved, but nothing too crazy. I boiled the cubes of chicken first, then pulled them apart, which I think just works better in a stew. Also, my 11 month old loved this stuff. I threw some in the food processor and he ate it up. Will definitely make this again. +Recipe Box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KadydaCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
So good, lick the bowl good! Lots of flavour, great on a chilly day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I also used used yams instead of sweet potatoes and it was fantastic! I also only used about half the flour and it was perfect next I might just add like a cup and a half of corn but this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Yum!!!!! Replace canned Kidney beans for Fresh cooked Black Beans No Corn Onion (Red) Rotisserie Chicken (Smoked) Throw all ingredients in crock pot, overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I made this recipe last night. It deserved 10 stars. The flavors came together beautifully. I can't wait toto have it for lunch today
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traecy McDuffie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I made this in a crock pot with the following variations: Instead of flour, I used two tbsps of tomato paste as a thickener. I used paprika instead of chili powder. I don't digest kidney beans or corn well so I added green beans instead. I also added chopped chorizo sausage. Hmmmmm. Try your own variations. It took about 4 hours to cook on high. You could cook it on low for 8 or 9 hours and it would be ready to enjoy after a day's work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Kerridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This was very good. My husband commented on how tasty it was. The only change I made was to substitute 1 cup of chicken stock for one of the cups of water in the recipe. Another commenter mentioned that the chicken got a bit lost in the recipe and I agree. Next time I make it, I will use 1.5 lbs. of chicken. This recipe would be good served over rice, which I will do when I heat up the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This tasted like a very healthy bowl of chicken chili. Very warming for cold days. I used one can of Rotel hot tomatoes n chillies, and it was very delicious. Great recipe for healthy eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAKOB&ELAHNA_MOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Instead of cubed chicken breast, I slow cooked pulled chicken in a mango salsa. It added another layer of flavor to this delicious stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pat Fleming

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I tried this recipe as a way to use up some Thanksgiving Turkey. I substituted turkey for the chicken, used chicken broth in place of water as suggested in the reviews, used black beans instead of kidney, and added 1 can of Rotel tomatoes for extra spice. It turned out terrific! This just might become a tradition! It was so good, I'm going to try a vegetation option for our non meat friends. Thanks for the great recipe inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States