Spicy Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I took the recipe of spices but made the soup differently. Fresh Tomato, sweet potato boiled in the spices and chicken stock (not water). Removed skins. Cooked onion, pepper and ground some fresh ginger into that while cooking them down. Garlic paste in potato pot. Blended all the items added together while adding some heavy cream. The chicken and corn I added last. The chicken was boneless skinless thighs I cooked in the oven and shredded when it cooled. It is like a bisque I guess? Liked it lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalATL
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Delicious and very filling! I have made this several times and always make it in the slow cooker. Like several other reviewers, I like that this lets me shred the chicken instead of chopping it to make it more stew-like in consistency. I use black beans instead of red and serve with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
My husband and I both enjoyed this stew even though I made a few changes and committed a huge faux pas. I used a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes and an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce, both with added garlic, oregano, and basil. I added only 8 oz. of water. I put all the ingredients in the slow cooker, omitting the oil and flour, with the intention of adding the corn and beans (I was going to use black beans) at the very end. I got distracted at the end of the day and served the stew up as it was without ever adding in the corn and beans! Oh well, it was still good. Now I want to make it again getting in those extra veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
This was SO GOOD!! Even the kids loved it! 5 HUGE stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I followed this recipe nearly to a T and it was real, real delicious. The only substitutions I made were that I swapped out red beans for kidney beans and can of corn for frozen (because that's what I had on hand). There was a decent amount of prep work involved, but nothing too crazy. I boiled the cubes of chicken first, then pulled them apart, which I think just works better in a stew. Also, my 11 month old loved this stuff. I threw some in the food processor and he ate it up. Will definitely make this again. +Recipe Box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KadydaCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
So good, lick the bowl good! Lots of flavour, great on a chilly day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I also used used yams instead of sweet potatoes and it was fantastic! I also only used about half the flour and it was perfect next I might just add like a cup and a half of corn but this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Yum!!!!! Replace canned Kidney beans for Fresh cooked Black Beans No Corn Onion (Red) Rotisserie Chicken (Smoked) Throw all ingredients in crock pot, overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I made this recipe last night. It deserved 10 stars. The flavors came together beautifully. I can't wait toto have it for lunch today
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traecy McDuffie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I made this in a crock pot with the following variations: Instead of flour, I used two tbsps of tomato paste as a thickener. I used paprika instead of chili powder. I don't digest kidney beans or corn well so I added green beans instead. I also added chopped chorizo sausage. Hmmmmm. Try your own variations. It took about 4 hours to cook on high. You could cook it on low for 8 or 9 hours and it would be ready to enjoy after a day's work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Kerridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States