Spicy Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
My family loved this! I followed most of the recipe, but made a few changes. I used regular legs and thighs, as that's what I had, and used tomato sauce in lieu of diced tomatoes, same reason. I also left out red pepper flakes, orange bell pepper and beans because of preference. All the other spices I kept the same, and it was delish! Served up with Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread. Will be making again this weekend for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Quick, easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was very good. I followed the recipe closely and greatly enjoyed the result. It is a little labor intensive with all the chopping but well worth the effort. I look forward to seeing how the leftovers taste today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I used regular potatoes instead of sweet potatoes. It was very good. I also added a teaspoon of habanero powder for a little extra heat. Very good flavors. Definitely something I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was really good. I didn't have a bell pepper (don't really care for them anyway) and I used canned corn instead of frozen. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and it turned out great. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Perfect in every way. Terrific flavors. I used homemade chicken broth, diced my roasted chicken meat and added a roasted jalapeno for more spice depth. I'm addicted to this soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This dish is PHENOMENAL! With all the potatoes, I figured this stew didn’t need the flour/water mixture, so I skipped that step. So glad I did, because it turned out incredibly thick! Instead of kidney beans, I used black beans, and I substituted an additional can of pinto beans for the corn. This recipe is the ultimate blend of tart, spicy, warm, and sweet. The spice blend is so unique and flavorful. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Deserves more stars!!! My husband made this this afternoon after having a couple snow days and it was very good-great flavor combinations, quick and easy to put together and cook! Will be using this a lot more during colder months. Try this and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This stew was fantastic! Inexpensive, easy to make, and very flavorful. I forgot to add the kidney beans, but it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States