Spicy Chicken and Sweet Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I made this in a crock pot with the following variations: Instead of flour, I used two tbsps of tomato paste as a thickener. I used paprika instead of chili powder. I don't digest kidney beans or corn well so I added green beans instead. I also added chopped chorizo sausage. Hmmmmm. Try your own variations. It took about 4 hours to cook on high. You could cook it on low for 8 or 9 hours and it would be ready to enjoy after a day's work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Kerridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This was very good. My husband commented on how tasty it was. The only change I made was to substitute 1 cup of chicken stock for one of the cups of water in the recipe. Another commenter mentioned that the chicken got a bit lost in the recipe and I agree. Next time I make it, I will use 1.5 lbs. of chicken. This recipe would be good served over rice, which I will do when I heat up the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This tasted like a very healthy bowl of chicken chili. Very warming for cold days. I used one can of Rotel hot tomatoes n chillies, and it was very delicious. Great recipe for healthy eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAKOB&ELAHNA_MOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Instead of cubed chicken breast, I slow cooked pulled chicken in a mango salsa. It added another layer of flavor to this delicious stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pat Fleming

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I tried this recipe as a way to use up some Thanksgiving Turkey. I substituted turkey for the chicken, used chicken broth in place of water as suggested in the reviews, used black beans instead of kidney, and added 1 can of Rotel tomatoes for extra spice. It turned out terrific! This just might become a tradition! It was so good, I'm going to try a vegetation option for our non meat friends. Thanks for the great recipe inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This was good, but no one raved - only change was I swapped chicken broth for water as others suggested. Nice warm meal for a bowl in front of the television perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Great flavor and easy to make. I will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sirife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Borja, Lima, Peru
Living In: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I have made this recipe multiple times. My kids love it. The only thing I do different is that I always add Organic chicken Better than Bouillon with the water! I also serve it with fresh cornbread, butter and honey:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This is a delicious dish! I didn't change a thing. I didn't have cooked chicken so I boiled skinless chicken thighs. After sauteing the onion and garlic, I just put everything right in the pot with the boiling chicken. It was fabulous! Such great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
The flavors in this stew are wonderful, rich and satisfying, and the ingredient list is super healthy, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States