Spicy Chicken and Spelt Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Fantastic. I brought it today for volunteer lunch for my SPCA thrift store lunch and they scarfed it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
One of the best things I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This dish was excellent! The sauce tastes just like something from Trader Joes. I will say I could not find Spelt from our local QFC (which is odd considering they have almost anything). I substituted the spelt for quinoa and like I said, this was great! I think you could easily substitute the spelt for any number of things with good results, say some kind of asian style noodle or even brown rice. I don't think white rice would be as good, especially something with a sweet flavor like Jasmin rice. I'll definitely be making this again, only with Spelt, which I'm hoping exists at Whole Foods...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cory R. King

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Used Quinoa instead of spelt - awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Loved it! A little too spicy for the kids but they don't eat anything but hot dogs anyway. I couldn't find spelt so I subbed out cooked quinoa instead. This also shortened the cooking time. I will make this again. It is a lot of chopping and not a fast meal, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I saved this recipe even though I am supposed to eat "gluten free" and spelt is classed as gluten. I just substituted rice for the spelt. The sauce is wonderful, and I am going to use it in other recipes I make! Thanks for sharing ACUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SchmecktGut

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
The sauce is wonderful! I just added it to my stir-fried veggies and it was great warm too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Tried Spelt berries for the first time with your recipe. It was a delicious way to try a new food! Thanks! A very beautiful dish too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Okay, I didn't try the whole recipe because this was a last minute thing, but I made the dressing for an oriental chicken salad and it was delicious. I also substituted 1 tbsp. sweet chile sauce for the cayenne and serrano peppers which probably toned it down a little (I have four little eaters). It made a delicious marinade for the chicken and an excellent dressing. I will never buy peanut sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This is the first time I've ever commented and it's because I absolutely LOVED this salad!! Yum yum yum!!!! Perfect spicyness and such a completely balanced meal. I did add Napa Cabbage to the mix and I used Kamut since I didn't have any spelt. I also through in some chicken bouillon when I boiled the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States