Spicy Chicken and Cilantro Wontons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
use the lemongrass that comes in a tube, it will blend much better, instead of cilantro I used thai basil, also ground white meat chicken breasts instead of theighs and baked these in the oven at 350, use mini muffin tins to form the wonton cup and fill the pockets with the mixture, spray with olive oil cooking spray! much healthier this way..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I used ground chicken not thighs. I skipped the lemon grass and replaced it with some chopped up corn and carrots. Omitted the ginger completely. To save on calories I baked them in the oven for about 10 mins at 325 degrees turning them half way. Served them with some hot plum sauce. Lots of work, but well worth it. My guest loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
really delicious, like many others I cut out the lemon grass, used less ginger and used 1.5 green chile peppers, one bunch of cilantro and they were great. I made about 35-40 of them because those are all the wrappers i had and i kept the rest of the filling for lettuce wraps (also delicious (: ) great recipe! i think it would have been good as the original, but with my modifications it was very good (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Uh muh guh. Amazing. Steamed them instead and omitted the lemon grass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats that Burning smell?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
alittle to much lemon grass and ginger for me. However, i served them at a party, and a lot of people liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Just made these for a party I'm having this weekend. I doubled the recipe and still only used one large bunch of cilantro. I was frying just a few to make sure they were party worthy. When I tasted them I thought I really couldn' t wait to taste them with the sweet and sour sauce but I didn't have any so I just spread on a little bit of pineapple preserves and it was awesome. Then I came up with the idea to add pineapple preserves to the mixture before frying. It made them awesome and helped with the slightly overpowering ginger flavor. If you like your food a little sweet they are awesome that way. That being said, they are still awesome the original way also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
These are great and easy to make. I added carrots in mine. Some other suggestions are bean sprouts and bok choy. I bought already made wonton wrappers to save some time. I also used chicken breast instead of thighs and steamed mine to keep it on the healthy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This is amazingly delicious. Have a friend help you assemble. It makes it much more fun. My whole family enjoyed making and eating these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
These were good. Like any wonton recipe (and I've made a few now), it is very time consuming (unless you have some little helpers, but I never do). I had to eat them plain because I have absolutely no dipping sauces on hand, but they were still good. I made a few changes to this as well. I omitted the lemon grass and sesame oil (I had none), used two serrano peppers in place of 1 red chile, and used dried ginger instead of fresh. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I didn't really care for these. The texture was too mushy for the filling and too much cilantro...and I love cilantro. I think it may be better with diced ingredients and maybe breast meat would have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States