Spicy Chicken and Cilantro Wontons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
WOW! What else can I say. This was my first time making a meat mixture for my wontons. This was AWESOME. So addicting. I will make this again and again. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ladysmith, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This was an unbelievable recipe. We actually cut down a lot on the ginger and the cilantro - added a bit more pepper and a bit more salt. In the broth we cut up green onions and threw them in at the very last minute - it would be really good with some sprouts as well. The making of them is a bit tedious but definitely definitely worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
The flavor is amazing. I did not deep fry but froze them and used them in a soup. Delicious. However, I precooked the chicken before making. And when cut open in the soup, the wonton filling does not like to stay together. Is this the cause"? I don't think I would mince the chicken with the other ingredients, but instead, chop of small and add to it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Santa Paula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
HOLY CAMOLE!!! These are EXCELLENT. Made them with the wonton wrapper recipe and they turned out perfect. They took a little TLC but it was well worth the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Instead of the chicken, I used 1 lb diced pork chop and 1 lb ground pork sausage. Instead of deep frying them, I brushed them with oil and fried on both sides for a few minutes in a large frying pan, then added 2/3 cup water, covered the pan, and boiled them in the water until they are done. They were more like potstickers, but still turned out awesome! I served them over rice with soy sauce and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
YUM! My husband and I whipped these up in no time. The assembly line helps! We made them as potstickers instead to save on the fat. (We brushed a non stick pan lightly with oil, set on medium heat, added about 8 potstickers at a time and let them sit for 2 minutes without touching, then added 1/4 cup of chicken broth, covered and turned down on low and let steam for another 2 minutes. Afterwards, we removed them and placed them on a sheet pan in the oven set at 200 degrees to keep them warm while we did the same with the rest. In between batches make sure to clean off your pan with a paper towel). We dipped them in gyoza sauce and hot chili oil. They turned out beautiful and loaded with flavor!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
These are so very good, I just made little triangles pressing the wet edges with fork tines. Turned out pretty and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Absolutely perfect! Tasted like an authentic egg roll. All the flavors came through and there was no overpowering salty taste like soy sauce fillings. This is the only way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
These were delicious and really easy to make. I didn't have lemongrass, but they were still really flavorful. The only other changes I made were to add about 1/2 tablespoon hoisin sauce and to steam instead of fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I used cooked chicken for these and subbed about half the amount of basil for the cilantro. The flavor was fantastic, although a bit strong on garlic after you eat them for a while. I fried half and steamed the others, and most everyone preferred the fried. I ended up getting 100 wontons out of one recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States