Spicy Chicken and Cilantro Wontons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
YUM! My husband and I whipped these up in no time. The assembly line helps! We made them as potstickers instead to save on the fat. (We brushed a non stick pan lightly with oil, set on medium heat, added about 8 potstickers at a time and let them sit for 2 minutes without touching, then added 1/4 cup of chicken broth, covered and turned down on low and let steam for another 2 minutes. Afterwards, we removed them and placed them on a sheet pan in the oven set at 200 degrees to keep them warm while we did the same with the rest. In between batches make sure to clean off your pan with a paper towel). We dipped them in gyoza sauce and hot chili oil. They turned out beautiful and loaded with flavor!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
These are incredibly good. I cut back on the cilantro to 1 bunch (pretty large). The only issue I had was with the lemongrass - and I didn't see anyone else mention it, so it might be me. I had a hard time getting the lemongrass minced in my food processor. I pulsed it for a while, then cranked it, then sat around hoping the lemongrass would soften, then cranked it again. It turned out fine, but there are still a few rather intimidating chunks it there, so next time I would bash up the lemongrass and ginger together in the processor with just the soy and then add the other ingredients once it was fine. Sorry this is so long - thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
HOLY CAMOLE!!! These are EXCELLENT. Made them with the wonton wrapper recipe and they turned out perfect. They took a little TLC but it was well worth the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Awesome. Made these as "potstickers". Used boneless chicken thighs and eliminated the lemongrass. Put every other ingredient into a food processor until blended,then wrapped the filling in the wonton wrappers and kept in the triangle shape. We sauteed them in a tbsp of veg oil for 2 minutes, added 2 tbsp of water, covered and let steam for 4 minutes. Dipped in sweet chili sauce and YUMMMMMY! Made these for guests 2 nights in a row and RAVE reviews! Looks difficult but VERY easy and delicious!***update*** used ground pork last night and that was just as yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHNEVILLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Instead of the chicken, I used 1 lb diced pork chop and 1 lb ground pork sausage. Instead of deep frying them, I brushed them with oil and fried on both sides for a few minutes in a large frying pan, then added 2/3 cup water, covered the pan, and boiled them in the water until they are done. They were more like potstickers, but still turned out awesome! I served them over rice with soy sauce and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I made these last week, it was a little tedious but well worth the effort. for me the recipe made about 60 to 70 wontons. I did freeze them before I fried them. They turned out great and I made it with the Hot and Sweet Dipping Sauce from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom_of_2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This was an unbelievable recipe. We actually cut down a lot on the ginger and the cilantro - added a bit more pepper and a bit more salt. In the broth we cut up green onions and threw them in at the very last minute - it would be really good with some sprouts as well. The making of them is a bit tedious but definitely definitely worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
These are so very good, I just made little triangles pressing the wet edges with fork tines. Turned out pretty and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I had been wanting to make these. I realized I had chicken with cilantro already in it leftover from sour cream enchiladas the night before. So I took 1 Cup of the shreaded chicken mixture, added 1/2 tsp. ginger, 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes, 1/2 tsp terrayki sauce. Mixed well then spooned 1tsp of mixture in each wonton. These were very good. We dipped in sweet sour sauce and hot mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
These were delicious and really easy to make. I didn't have lemongrass, but they were still really flavorful. The only other changes I made were to add about 1/2 tablespoon hoisin sauce and to steam instead of fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States