Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
cut this down to 3 servings since it was just me and bf.. i wouldn't call this spicy with the recipe as is.. but after tripling the curry and adding a teaspoon of garlic chili sauce.. it met my expectations.. used a whole lime and half of a lemon.. didn't have any jalapeno so used serrano instead.. ty for the recipe.. ~~UPDATE: it was two years ago when i first tried this recipe and i'm wondering how i made it work back then.. i cut the recipe in half again.. and when i was making the broth this time i felt like it needed more liquid.. so i added another cup of chicken broth.. i used 12 oz of cut up pork chops in place of the 1 1/4 lb chicken.. i salted and peppered while sauteeing the pork, but i agree with another reviewer that it would have been better to have marinated the meat.. i subbed 1 1/2 tsp of curry powder for the paste.. and subbed 2 green onions for the 1/2 red onion.. i added 1 tablespoon of garlic chili sauce.. i used the juice and zest of one lime.. also used light coconut milk.. it was still good but i felt like it was missing something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I made this tonight. It is as easy as it is tasty. I am vegetarian so I made the usual swaps. Like others I added more curry paste (double). But other than that, I followed it to the letter. Fab!!! I highly recommend watching Chef Johns video as it makes it even easier. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryAnne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This delicious!! I had the exact same red curry paste he used in the video and it wasn't spicy at all and I added like half the bottle. Im not a fan of chunks of hot peppers in my food so I garnished mine with lime, cilantro, and siracha....YUMMY!!! Next time I will double the amount of mushrooms. I served this over some instant rice as I forgot to get Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Wow, this soup is so good! It's, basically, Tom Yum soup - one of my favorites. The only alteration I made was that I used boneless, skinless chicken breast instead of dark meat. Despite the warnings, I didn't find it to be spicy at all (and I'm very sensitive to spicy food). I almost didn't add all of the Red Curry Paste, but I'm glad I did. I'll probably add even more next time. Maybe the brand I bought just isn't as spicy as other brands? The only other change that I'll make is to add salt. It definitely needed salt. This recipe is one of my favorites that I've found on this site. I'll be making this soup a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Fantastic soup as is, but found using one can of coconut milk was fine (instead of two). And to the person who said to use half a tube of Gourmet Garden lemongrass and half a tube of Gourmet Garden minced ginger... Do you realize that equals over 20 tsps of each? I agree it is okay to use the tube stuff, but you only need a few tsp, not half a tube! That would ruin the soup for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorelei King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I cooked the onion with the cubed chicken, then added the ginger and garlic. Simmered the soup with one cup of pasta shells, and added scallions at the end. After some sniffly days, this spicy soup was delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elmira, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This recipe is to DIE for. I made it once, it turned out fabulous and have been craving it again ever since! I followed this recipe exactly, except I turned it into more of a vietnamese soup and added carrots, bean sprouts and then served it over rice noodles. My only suggestion if you are going to do that, is DO NOT cook the noodles in the soup. They absorb a lot of the broth so the soup becomes too thick. Cook the noodles separately and then pour the broth over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I've been sick for a while now, so I was getting sick of the chicken soups I had available, and decided to try something different. This was delicious. Tastes like my favorite soup at one of the local Thai restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clio, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States