Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was great! I didn't have lemongrass so I substituted the chopped up rind of a lemon, and though I'm no expert on thai soups, it came out great for us! I doubled the curry paste also, and even then my 2 year old could handle the spice, so you'll have to add to your taste. Also, there was nothing wrong for me with the 3 Tbsp of fish sauce, I thought it added to the thai flavor of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was the best and easiest recipe I have found. There are multiple variations of this recipe but this one is the champ. I did use extra paste. So delicious I am having the left overs now. I had to review to let people know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brunsell
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Excellent recipe. I will make a larger batch next time because the left overs were just as good or better than the fresh made soup. If you like spicy foods you will definitely need to add more red curry paste. I made it almost exactly as described but i used 1 can of regular coconut milk and 1 can of light coconut milk and I ended up with a real orange soup. I pulled enough of soup out for my 2 kids before I added the heat and they absolutely loved it. Some other reviewers said they would add more veggies or pour over rice next time and think that is good advice, I probably would as well. All in all a very tasty and easy to make soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brunsell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canyon Country, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I'm rating this again as I was unable to edit my original review for some odd reason. *Definitely do not use three tablespoons of fish sauce. I would either use one tablespoon, or none at all. Also, as a lover of all things hot and spicy, the red curry paste does not add much, if any, heat. I used half of the jar and it still had almost no heat. In my opinion, it only adds flavor. If you like heat, go ahead and use the curry paste for flavor and buy some chili paste for heat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This soup was fantastic! My husband asked for it again which is big since he isn't much of a soup fan. I did alter it slightly, I couldn't find lemon grass so instead I put in a bunch of scallions toward the end. They made it a little chunkier too which I prefer. Then toward the end I added some sriarcha because I didn't think it was spicy enough. It came out great though and it will absolutely be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I have made this recipe probably 15x's and it gets better every time I make it! I didn't alter it at all except to add a large squirt of sirachi sauce at the end...I like it extra spicy! He mentions 1 lime in the ingredient list and 2 in the video...I used 2...the lime really helps to make the dish. Also, chop up and prepare all ingredients before you start simmering the chicken broth. It takes a little while to prepare it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This is very close to the Authentic Tom Yum soup we made in a cooking class in Thailand. Fabulous! We added 4x the amount of red curry paste and it wasn't very hot, but very flavorful. Love this recipe! A great alternative to boring chicken noodle soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This recipe is SO good! I added red peppers for a little color. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mackenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Make it easy on yourself and use Gourmet Garden. 1/2 tube minced ginger, 1/2 tube minced lemon grass, 4 tsp minced garlic, you will still need to strain it. I went to 3 stores before finding the red curry paste, and it really didn't add much spice. I would substitute ground red pepper and use a lot of it as the coconut milk neutralizes spice. I used 3 chicken breasts, and added 2 fresh tomatoes sliced at the end of the cooking. The fresh limes, and fresh cilantro are an absolute must. Oh yeah, the fish sauce is disgusting, so just use a little salt. Serve with jasmine rice or rice noodles. This soup is every bit as good as what I have had in restaurants in Hawaii, Key West, and Miami. The first time I tried it, I reported to my mom that I just had the most awakening soup that tasted of chicken, lime, and milk. Bizarre, but it totally works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Seriously delicious and very filling. Two minor changes: (i) 1 1/2 lbs. of skinless, boneless chicken thighs & 1 lb. chicken tenderloins rather than all thighs, and (ii) 4 tsp. red curry paste rather than 2 tsp. Chef John’s video for making this soup is worth watching, and apparently reflects the original way he made it versus this version seemingly altered by AR slightly. Great recipe, great soup . . . grand slam homer, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe

Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States