Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This soup was fantastic! My husband asked for it again which is big since he isn't much of a soup fan. I did alter it slightly, I couldn't find lemon grass so instead I put in a bunch of scallions toward the end. They made it a little chunkier too which I prefer. Then toward the end I added some sriarcha because I didn't think it was spicy enough. It came out great though and it will absolutely be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I have made this recipe probably 15x's and it gets better every time I make it! I didn't alter it at all except to add a large squirt of sirachi sauce at the end...I like it extra spicy! He mentions 1 lime in the ingredient list and 2 in the video...I used 2...the lime really helps to make the dish. Also, chop up and prepare all ingredients before you start simmering the chicken broth. It takes a little while to prepare it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This is very close to the Authentic Tom Yum soup we made in a cooking class in Thailand. Fabulous! We added 4x the amount of red curry paste and it wasn't very hot, but very flavorful. Love this recipe! A great alternative to boring chicken noodle soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This recipe is SO good! I added red peppers for a little color. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mackenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Make it easy on yourself and use Gourmet Garden. 1/2 tube minced ginger, 1/2 tube minced lemon grass, 4 tsp minced garlic, you will still need to strain it. I went to 3 stores before finding the red curry paste, and it really didn't add much spice. I would substitute ground red pepper and use a lot of it as the coconut milk neutralizes spice. I used 3 chicken breasts, and added 2 fresh tomatoes sliced at the end of the cooking. The fresh limes, and fresh cilantro are an absolute must. Oh yeah, the fish sauce is disgusting, so just use a little salt. Serve with jasmine rice or rice noodles. This soup is every bit as good as what I have had in restaurants in Hawaii, Key West, and Miami. The first time I tried it, I reported to my mom that I just had the most awakening soup that tasted of chicken, lime, and milk. Bizarre, but it totally works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Seriously delicious and very filling. Two minor changes: (i) 1 1/2 lbs. of skinless, boneless chicken thighs & 1 lb. chicken tenderloins rather than all thighs, and (ii) 4 tsp. red curry paste rather than 2 tsp. Chef John’s video for making this soup is worth watching, and apparently reflects the original way he made it versus this version seemingly altered by AR slightly. Great recipe, great soup . . . grand slam homer, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Really good! I poached this chicken in the broth but did everything else as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Was delicious served over jasmine rice. Used 1.5 lbs. chicken thighs and 1 lb. chicken breast. The thighs were definitely more flavorful. Red curry paste was not hot; had to triple the amount to get any heat. Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Delicious~ Just like what I would order in a restaurant! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Perfect recipe for my favorite dish. Just be careful with the amount of lime juice you put in. I did two largish limes and found the juice to be a bit too much. I'd start with 1 to 1 1/2, taste, and go from there. Still, everything else is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States