Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Divine ...! I will do this over and over again! I didn't have light, used both cans of thick, coconut milk. By mistake, I used too much red curry, 3 TBSP instead of teaspoons(!), even with so much red curry it was absolutely wonderful. Obviously, we didn't use jalapeños anymore... We are spicy food lovers indeed! Other than these 2 small and unintentional modifications, no alteration to the recipe. Would never make any changes before trying first the original recipe. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Subtle and complex flavours all at the same time, not too spicy even after adding an additional 3 teaspoons of the red curry paste, also upped the fish sauce by a tablespoon and added a cup of frozen shrimp at the end. The fresh lime juice made all the difference, perhaps adding galangal or kafir lime leaves in the future? Will try next time. A fantastic recipe, thnx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was so flavorful and tasty! Better than what I have had in most Thai restaurants. The only changes I made were to use more curry paste and more cilantro than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I made this last night for my in-laws who are "foodies" and members of gourmet clubs. They absolutely raved about this recipe and wanted to know where I got it. They both said it tasted "restaurant worthy". I am not an experienced chef so I like recipes that aren't too complicated. This recipe is not complicated but I do recommend watching the video as I found it very helpful to watch the steps being performed. The grocery store I went to didn't have fresh lemon grass so I bought the minced lemon grass that is sold in a tube. One tube equals 6 lemon grass stalks so I squeezed half of the tube into the chicken broth. It was perfect and I doubt I'll use fresh lemon stalk in the future. Also, I used 3/4 teaspoon red curry paste and the soup was not spicy at all. When I cook it just for me and my husband, I will kick it up a notch. Thank you for sharing such an awesome recipe! Love it and will be making this from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I was impressed with this recipe, as a Canadian, I made this soup for my Thai sister-in-law and she approved! I rated 4/5 because I did tweak it a bit to my personal preferences - I added more red curry past (as per many other reviews) and also added onion, asparagus, and red peppers because I like some veg in my soups. I also had some rice left over, so I poured the hot soup over a bit of the rice in the bowls. Lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
cut this down to 3 servings since it was just me and bf.. i wouldn't call this spicy with the recipe as is.. but after tripling the curry and adding a teaspoon of garlic chili sauce.. it met my expectations.. used a whole lime and half of a lemon.. didn't have any jalapeno so used serano instead.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I made this tonight. It is as easy as it is tasty. I am vegetarian so I made the usual swaps. Like others I added more curry paste (double). But other than that, I followed it to the letter. Fab!!! I highly recommend watching Chef Johns video as it makes it even easier. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryAnne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This delicious!! I had the exact same red curry paste he used in the video and it wasn't spicy at all and I added like half the bottle. Im not a fan of chunks of hot peppers in my food so I garnished mine with lime, cilantro, and siracha....YUMMY!!! Next time I will double the amount of mushrooms. I served this over some instant rice as I forgot to get Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Wow, this soup is so good! It's, basically, Tom Yum soup - one of my favorites. The only alteration I made was that I used boneless, skinless chicken breast instead of dark meat. Despite the warnings, I didn't find it to be spicy at all (and I'm very sensitive to spicy food). I almost didn't add all of the Red Curry Paste, but I'm glad I did. I'll probably add even more next time. Maybe the brand I bought just isn't as spicy as other brands? The only other change that I'll make is to add salt. It definitely needed salt. This recipe is one of my favorites that I've found on this site. I'll be making this soup a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States