Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I was impressed with this recipe, as a Canadian, I made this soup for my Thai sister-in-law and she approved! I rated 4/5 because I did tweak it a bit to my personal preferences - I added more red curry past (as per many other reviews) and also added onion, asparagus, and red peppers because I like some veg in my soups. I also had some rice left over, so I poured the hot soup over a bit of the rice in the bowls. Lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
cut this down to 3 servings since it was just me and bf.. i wouldn't call this spicy with the recipe as is.. but after tripling the curry and adding a teaspoon of garlic chili sauce.. it met my expectations.. used a whole lime and half of a lemon.. didn't have any jalapeno so used serano instead.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I made this tonight. It is as easy as it is tasty. I am vegetarian so I made the usual swaps. Like others I added more curry paste (double). But other than that, I followed it to the letter. Fab!!! I highly recommend watching Chef Johns video as it makes it even easier. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryAnne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This delicious!! I had the exact same red curry paste he used in the video and it wasn't spicy at all and I added like half the bottle. Im not a fan of chunks of hot peppers in my food so I garnished mine with lime, cilantro, and siracha....YUMMY!!! Next time I will double the amount of mushrooms. I served this over some instant rice as I forgot to get Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Wow, this soup is so good! It's, basically, Tom Yum soup - one of my favorites. The only alteration I made was that I used boneless, skinless chicken breast instead of dark meat. Despite the warnings, I didn't find it to be spicy at all (and I'm very sensitive to spicy food). I almost didn't add all of the Red Curry Paste, but I'm glad I did. I'll probably add even more next time. Maybe the brand I bought just isn't as spicy as other brands? The only other change that I'll make is to add salt. It definitely needed salt. This recipe is one of my favorites that I've found on this site. I'll be making this soup a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Fantastic soup as is, but found using one can of coconut milk was fine (instead of two). And to the person who said to use half a tube of Gourmet Garden lemongrass and half a tube of Gourmet Garden minced ginger... Do you realize that equals over 20 tsps of each? I agree it is okay to use the tube stuff, but you only need a few tsp, not half a tube! That would ruin the soup for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorelei King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I cooked the onion with the cubed chicken, then added a tablespoon each of ginger and garlic. Simmered the soup with one cup of pasta shells, and added scallions at the end. After some sniffly days, this spicy soup was delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This recipe is to DIE for. I made it once, it turned out fabulous and have been craving it again ever since! I followed this recipe exactly, except I turned it into more of a vietnamese soup and added carrots, bean sprouts and then served it over rice noodles. My only suggestion if you are going to do that, is DO NOT cook the noodles in the soup. They absorb a lot of the broth so the soup becomes too thick. Cook the noodles separately and then pour the broth over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States