Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Good stuff. To pack the spice you need to add it though, jalepenos & some Siracha will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Photo by Liza Michaela Dorfman
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This tunred out amazing and easy. My boyfriend and I used 1.5 lbs of chicken and a pound of small raw shelled shrimp. I added the shrimp in with around 5 minutes left on step 5. Cooked to perfection. My boyfriend said the leftovers are even better than the original. Just a plainly delicious, restaurant style soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SoupClub217
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
SoupClub217 used this recipe this week and absolutely loved it!! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Like all the other reviewers, I thought this soup was excellent! A number of people mentioned that the Thai Red Curry Paste did not add enough heat. I think this is because most folks use the overpriced Thai Kitchen Red Curry Paste found in most grocery stores. Big mistake!! Go to Amazon.com and search for Mae Ploy Thai Red Curry Paste. (Be sure to read the reviews.) Much better value for your money and MUCH better quality, with complex and authentic Thai seasoning. Trust me, you will not complain about the soup not being spicy enough. If you do much Thai cooking, this is the item to have on hand, as well as other types of of Thai pastes. (I assume these are also available in specialty food markets, Whole Foods, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Extremely happy with this recipe! Had to sub out or omit several ingredients, and it was still excellent! (My changes: no oil, mushrooms, fish sauce, or onions, and subbing out the curry paste for curry powder and dried chilies. Also, used dry instead of fresh ginger and cilantro. And no garnishes.) Still, it's a favorite! I served it over rice, which was a very good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anru7695

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I really like this recipe. I liked to add fresh tomatoes and pea pods at the very end to make it a little "fresher". And a little more lime juice than called for.....Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Amazing!!! I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding a habenero pepper with the jalepeno...great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheDon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight and it is the best soup I've ever had. Didn't have the lemon grass so I used lemon rind. Really good! I will make this over and over. Oh and I think cilantro tastes like soap so did parsley instead. I was surprised that I even enjoyed the fresh jalapeno's on top. Way to go Chef John, I have to say I've enjoyed all of the recipes I've made of yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MemaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
There are few recipes that I get really excited about, that I can't stop talking about. I LOVE this soup. I will make it again and again. I did not use the jalapenos as I found the red curry paste hot enough, but I don't like more than a bit of heat. I learned when I made it for a friend (beforehand, thankfully) who is allergic to shellfish that red curry paste usually has shrimp paste in it but a) it is possible to find it without, and b) green curry paste could be a decent substitute. Fish sauce is made of anchovies and I'd suggest that you give it a try if you haven't before, as it keeps it more authentically Thai. (Another reviewer was less enthusiastic.) The lime juice mentioned as missing by another reviewer is now indeed listed. Also the big reason to discard the lemongrass, garlic and ginger is that lemongrass is very fibrous and you don't want that in your soup. It's hard to pick it out later. Trust me, I have experience. But by the time you saute those ingredients and simmer them in the stock, they have done their job. With the lemongrass, chop off the top 1/3 and set aside for a different application, and put the bottom 2/3 in a little food processor and you will quickly be ready to saute. Finally, at the end you can add cooked rice, rice noodles, lightly steamed broccoli, or any vegetables you want to add more bulk but it is great on its own. And don't plan on much else for your meal, as a good hearty bowl is very filling. Well done Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I have made this over and over again. I crave it, it has become a staple. You gotta use thighs, they add so much more flavor, but I will use breast in a pinch. I tend to use a lot more lemon grass, ginger, and garlic than called for, but I love the flavors, my whole house smells SO GOOD!!! I'll make some skinny rice noodles, put those in a bowl, and pour soup on them. Looks very nice. Makes me feel like a real chef, lol;) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States