Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SB
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This recipe was delicious. There is something missing from the recipe, in step #5 it says to add the lime juice, but nowhere in the ingredients is lime juice listed other then the limes for garnishment. I used 2 tablespoons because I found another thai recipe similiar to this one and that's what it called for. Other then that, I followed this recipe to a T, and it was wonderful. Although, next time I would like a little more heat and will use serrano peppers instead of jalapenos. Also, this is a light soup recipe, and if your looking to make it more hearty try using basmati rice or glass noodle with it. They are both great. Thanks for sharing, will be using this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Really good! I poached this chicken in the broth but did everything else as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Seriously delicious and very filling. Two minor changes: (i) 1 1/2 lbs. of skinless, boneless chicken thighs & 1 lb. chicken tenderloins rather than all thighs, and (ii) 4 tsp. red curry paste rather than 2 tsp. Chef John’s video for making this soup is worth watching, and apparently reflects the original way he made it versus this version seemingly altered by AR slightly. Great recipe, great soup . . . grand slam homer, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Make it easy on yourself and use Gourmet Garden. 1/2 tube minced ginger, 1/2 tube minced lemon grass, 4 tsp minced garlic, you will still need to strain it. I went to 3 stores before finding the red curry paste, and it really didn't add much spice. I would substitute ground red pepper and use a lot of it as the coconut milk neutralizes spice. I used 3 chicken breasts, and added 2 fresh tomatoes sliced at the end of the cooking. The fresh limes, and fresh cilantro are an absolute must. Oh yeah, the fish sauce is disgusting, so just use a little salt. Serve with jasmine rice or rice noodles. This soup is every bit as good as what I have had in restaurants in Hawaii, Key West, and Miami. The first time I tried it, I reported to my mom that I just had the most awakening soup that tasted of chicken, lime, and milk. Bizarre, but it totally works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Just tried, written directions left out a couple steps, so watch the video (when to add prepared stock and how much lime juice (you squeeze two limes, and stock goes in just before coconut milk)). I loved it and I only like mild spice. I agree with another reviewer, the Thai Kitchen red curry paste is good, but I actually had to add more, and I only used 1 can of coconut milk! But this was very good with brown rice. Next time I will try the light coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This is very close to the Authentic Tom Yum soup we made in a cooking class in Thailand. Fabulous! We added 4x the amount of red curry paste and it wasn't very hot, but very flavorful. Love this recipe! A great alternative to boring chicken noodle soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I had some problems with the recipe. First, despite using less chicken than recommended, I ended up needing to add extra broth as there wasn't enough liquid. Second, even with the extra broth, it was almost impossible to skim the top of fat, as my spoon kept running into chicken pieces and vegetables. Third, I really think the chicken should be more seasoned on its own, either with some kind of marinade or rub or at least in the skillet with salt and pepper. Finally, I wonder if maybe the garlic, lemongrass, and ginger should stay in the soup rather than being discarded. The soup I ended up with was very bland, other than the jalapeno slices, and they were just random heat since they were put in at the end as garnish. I will admit I did not use the cilantro as I strongly dislike it. This is the second "spicy" "Thai" soup I've made from Allrecipes that has been bland. I have a few others to try, but I'm thinking I might have to make up my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Was delicious served over jasmine rice. Used 1.5 lbs. chicken thighs and 1 lb. chicken breast. The thighs were definitely more flavorful. Red curry paste was not hot; had to triple the amount to get any heat. Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I started making soup every Sunday for football season so I am standing in front of a TV watching the Red Zone instead of sitting in front of a TV. I made this soup last Sunday and will make it many times again in the future. The only thing I changed was adding twice the red chili paste like other reviewers, sliced shiitake mushrooms, more broth, and cooked longer because I wanted the red onions softer. It was a challenge trimming the fat off the chicken thighs but worth the flavor and moistness breasts do not give. I appreciated Chef John's tip straining out the ginger, lemon grass, garlic cooking in chunks and using the lite and regular coconut milk. I served it with 1/4 cup basmati rice. This was so tasty it was gone in two days. I am making Chef John's gumbo today. Go Colts!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I made this last night for my in-laws who are "foodies" and members of gourmet clubs. They absolutely raved about this recipe and wanted to know where I got it. They both said it tasted "restaurant worthy". I am not an experienced chef so I like recipes that aren't too complicated. This recipe is not complicated but I do recommend watching the video as I found it very helpful to watch the steps being performed. The grocery store I went to didn't have fresh lemon grass so I bought the minced lemon grass that is sold in a tube. One tube equals 6 lemon grass stalks so I squeezed half of the tube into the chicken broth. It was perfect and I doubt I'll use fresh lemon stalk in the future. Also, I used 3/4 teaspoon red curry paste and the soup was not spicy at all. When I cook it just for me and my husband, I will kick it up a notch. Thank you for sharing such an awesome recipe! Love it and will be making this from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States