Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Delicious. Like others, I quadrupled the curry paste and still didn't find it too spicy. I also added chopped carrots, sweet potatoes and red potatoes. It's really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I've never had Thai food before but gave this a try. Very good. I added 4Tbs of the red curry paste and it had a nice heat in the back of my throat. Not too much, though. I agree with others that said it would be nice with rice or noodles. I will cook some bulgar or spinach noodles to add to the soup for dinner. I also added a few slices of tomato to my bowl before eating (and to save on calories I used 1 can lite coconut milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
SPECTACULAR! Followed the recipe to the letter and was thrilled with the result. Some reviews say that 2 tsps of the red curry paste was insufficient ...we must have lucked into a stronger paste because it was perfect. This will become a staple - will likely triple the recipe and freeze batches for the satisfaction of 'instant comfort food' - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Delicious!! This recipe is so flavourful! I had to double the red curry though to make it more spicy. Thanks Chef John for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was great! I didn't have lemongrass so I substituted the chopped up rind of a lemon, and though I'm no expert on thai soups, it came out great for us! I doubled the curry paste also, and even then my 2 year old could handle the spice, so you'll have to add to your taste. Also, there was nothing wrong for me with the 3 Tbsp of fish sauce, I thought it added to the thai flavor of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was the best and easiest recipe I have found. There are multiple variations of this recipe but this one is the champ. I did use extra paste. So delicious I am having the left overs now. I had to review to let people know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brunsell
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Excellent recipe. I will make a larger batch next time because the left overs were just as good or better than the fresh made soup. If you like spicy foods you will definitely need to add more red curry paste. I made it almost exactly as described but i used 1 can of regular coconut milk and 1 can of light coconut milk and I ended up with a real orange soup. I pulled enough of soup out for my 2 kids before I added the heat and they absolutely loved it. Some other reviewers said they would add more veggies or pour over rice next time and think that is good advice, I probably would as well. All in all a very tasty and easy to make soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brunsell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canyon Country, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I'm rating this again as I was unable to edit my original review for some odd reason. *Definitely do not use three tablespoons of fish sauce. I would either use one tablespoon, or none at all. Also, as a lover of all things hot and spicy, the red curry paste does not add much, if any, heat. I used half of the jar and it still had almost no heat. In my opinion, it only adds flavor. If you like heat, go ahead and use the curry paste for flavor and buy some chili paste for heat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This soup was fantastic! My husband asked for it again which is big since he isn't much of a soup fan. I did alter it slightly, I couldn't find lemon grass so instead I put in a bunch of scallions toward the end. They made it a little chunkier too which I prefer. Then toward the end I added some sriarcha because I didn't think it was spicy enough. It came out great though and it will absolutely be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I have made this recipe probably 15x's and it gets better every time I make it! I didn't alter it at all except to add a large squirt of sirachi sauce at the end...I like it extra spicy! He mentions 1 lime in the ingredient list and 2 in the video...I used 2...the lime really helps to make the dish. Also, chop up and prepare all ingredients before you start simmering the chicken broth. It takes a little while to prepare it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States