Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Very authentic, this soup was such a hit with my family! I made a few minor changes... like adding more pureed ginger to the soup once it was all mixed together and I added probably about triple the red curry paste. Delicious!! 5 stars or more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Steen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I started making soup every Sunday for football season so I am standing in front of a TV watching the Red Zone instead of sitting in front of a TV. I made this soup last Sunday and will make it many times again in the future. The only thing I changed was adding twice the red chili paste like other reviewers, sliced shiitake mushrooms, more broth, and cooked longer because I wanted the red onions softer. It was a challenge trimming the fat off the chicken thighs but worth the flavor and moistness breasts do not give. I appreciated Chef John's tip straining out the ginger, lemon grass, garlic cooking in chunks and using the lite and regular coconut milk. I served it with 1/4 cup basmati rice. This was so tasty it was gone in two days. I am making Chef John's gumbo today. Go Colts!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Thought this was delish. Added 4 tsp of curry as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I am not a fan of mushrooms and so I left them out but asides from that I followed the recipe to a T and it was absolutely delicious!! Definitely adding this one to my repertoire :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Franca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This was better than the soup I usually get at my local Thai restaurant! Soooo yummy!! I was ambivalent about using fish sauce since it smells like some kind of nasty, but you couldn't even taste it in the finished product. I had a lot of leftover rotisserie chicken so I chopped it up and used that. I also had some leftover spicy green beans I had made so I chopped them roughly and added that too. Other than that I followed the recipe to a T and I loved it!! My husband enjoyed it too and he is very picky and the only thing he ever orders at a Thai restaurant is Mango Chicken. We will definitely make this again next time I have a Thai craving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janean Vivadelli

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Incredible! Added rice noodles, which were fantastic. I would not miss the chicken because the broth is so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
OMG, I think I am going to cry! I tried this soup in a restaurant years ago and have not been able to duplicate it-until now! Thank you so much for this incredible recipe. I served it over brown rice- my family loves it. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. Great flavor and simple to prepare. Would be great with noodles too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Excellent! I made the recipe as described except used breast instead of thighs. While boiling the lemon grass, ginger, and garlic I got a little busy which resulted in a reduction of liquid from 4 cups to less than 2 cups. With a reduced broth, the flavours BURST out of the pot when finished! Probably one of my favourite soups of all time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States