Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Made this recipe as is and is was good, not great in my humble opinion. Here are the changes I made the next time: 1) Instead of infusing broth with the lemongrass, ginger and garlic and discarding it 2) I add Thai flavoring from Gourmet Blends 3) Used 1 can of light coconut milk 4) Added 1 tsp of Sambal Oelek for spice 5) Chicken breasts instead of thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Wow! Packs a tasty punch. Made exactly as written. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laponzio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doubletigers
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I made it with my homemade chicken stock. This is good. I will add more of the curry paste next time to give it more flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubletigers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South San Francisco, California, USA
Photo by SB
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This recipe was delicious. There is something missing from the recipe, in step #5 it says to add the lime juice, but nowhere in the ingredients is lime juice listed other then the limes for garnishment. I used 2 tablespoons because I found another thai recipe similiar to this one and that's what it called for. Other then that, I followed this recipe to a T, and it was wonderful. Although, next time I would like a little more heat and will use serrano peppers instead of jalapenos. Also, this is a light soup recipe, and if your looking to make it more hearty try using basmati rice or glass noodle with it. They are both great. Thanks for sharing, will be using this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I used chicken breasts and 1 teaspoon of red curry. Awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
What a lovely soup. So many flavors! Based on another review and after tasting the Thai Kitchen Red Curry Paste (no heat at all) I doubled the amount and added a healthy four teaspoons and it added a nice warmth. I also used a serrano pepper instead of a jalapeno as that's what was in the fridge. I'm looking forward to having the remainder of this over brown rice tonight. I'll most certainly be making this soup again. Excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
amazing!It is an almost exact match to my fave thai soup-tom kha pak I substiti uted shrimp and removed them as soon as they were cooked so as to prevent them from becoming rubbery/overcooked.used only 2 tbsp fish sauce and 2cans of light cocnut milk when I added the onion I also added some red and yellow diced peppers and a pinch of red pepper flakes and a tbsp of brown sugar. adding a cup of diced pineapple really makes this soup more awesome! next time i will probably add some slivered carrots when i saute the mushrooms for more veggie oomph :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Just tried, written directions left out a couple steps, so watch the video (when to add prepared stock and how much lime juice (you squeeze two limes, and stock goes in just before coconut milk)). I loved it and I only like mild spice. I agree with another reviewer, the Thai Kitchen red curry paste is good, but I actually had to add more, and I only used 1 can of coconut milk! But this was very good with brown rice. Next time I will try the light coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I really love the thai coconut soups with lime juice. This one is as good as I have had locally in restaurants. Thank you for the great recipe!! Just wanted to note that our thai red curry paste (from Thai Kitchen) was not spicy at all. It was very flavorful, but in our case the thing that added the "heat" were the jalapenos added (with seeds) just before eating. Anyways, a delightful and fun recipe to make. Definitely look forward to doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Loved it. made my own red curry paste and used the whole 2 tsp. Add broth right before coconut milk. I used chicken breast but actually grilled marinated slices and cubed. Marinated in olive oi, curry and garlic powder. Wanted to compensate for not using the thigh meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States