Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Delicious~ Just like what I would order in a restaurant! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Perfect recipe for my favorite dish. Just be careful with the amount of lime juice you put in. I did two largish limes and found the juice to be a bit too much. I'd start with 1 to 1 1/2, taste, and go from there. Still, everything else is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Okay, my changes first: 2 older lemon (quite old) grass stalks from last time I made this. 2 tsp lemon zest about 7 tiato leaves in the initial boil which you strain, you can find these at an asian grocery. instead of coconut milk in a can I used an actual young coconut. I blended the juice with the meat and between 1/8 and 1/4 heavy cream to as fine a consistency as I could in a standard blender half jalepeno half habenero sauteed garlic with 2 shallots with the chicken instead of putting the garlic in beforehand. added about 1/4 cup sour cream used 2 bullion cubes with an extra cup of water instead of chicken stock used one large king oyster mushroom, sliced and cut into 2 inch by one inch pieces added 1/2 cup of jasmine rice made in a rice cooker With these changes the recipe was far and wide beyond the last time I made it. Doing the coconut this way gave it a wonderful texture and the flavors were so intense. It was just spicy enough to get a nice kick and still taste that habanero and jalepeno aftertaste. the king oyster MADE THIS DISH, really soaked up the flavor and the texture is my favorite of any mushroom. This was the first time I tried this shroom and I think it may be my favorite, find it at the asian grocery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This soup was great! I used two cans of light coconut milk and chicken breast and I don't think it compromised the flavor at all. The supermarket ran out of red curry paste so I used green. I did not get the level of spice that the recipe predicted (or that I wanted) so I added two jalapenos instead of one. Overall this soup was delicious. I served over rice noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Delicous! I added some extra chicken (~2.5lbs total) and sliced carrots to the mixture for some color and a chunkier soup. My local grocer only had the lemon grass in a tube but that worked well too. Also, didnt find it all that spicy (was heavy-handed with the curry too!) so it could be kicked up if you wanted more. I loved this - will absolutely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is totally awesome!!!!! I think my jar of curry paste was pretty weak, because I added ALOT more. I also added just a touch of turmeric and cinnamon. My family loves this!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaysville, Utah, USA
Living In: Hager City, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I found the lemon grass in one of those tube things along with alot more I love Thai soup the hotter the better and you hit it right on the head I now have a favorite Thai soup and that would be yours I have made it with chicken and shrimp both where awesome and I agree with Chef John the spicier the better I made my hubbys alot less spicy he can't handle it keep up the good work :')
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
yummy!!! I added some red quinoa and it is soo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Made this recipe as is and is was good, not great in my humble opinion. Here are the changes I made the next time: 1) Instead of infusing broth with the lemongrass, ginger and garlic and discarding it 2) I add Thai flavoring from Gourmet Blends 3) Used 1 can of light coconut milk 4) Added 1 tsp of Sambal Oelek for spice 5) Chicken breasts instead of thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Wow! Packs a tasty punch. Made exactly as written. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laponzio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States