Spicy Chicken Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
So delicious - flavorful yet light. I made a few small adjustments. Salted the chicken as it cooked, and added lemon pepper. My grocery store didn't have curry paste so I used red curry sauce (about a 1/2 cup). Other than that followed recipe to a T. The garnish is a must, it really brightened the dish. Husband loved it; will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I love this recipe!! I spice it up a little extra by adding three times the thai curry paste, some red chili sauce and adding some soy sauce for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Amazing. Simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Lovely base soup i would make a few changes. I poached the chicken in the broth . Only added 1 can of coconut milk or it would have been very bland. I would add 4 tbs of curry paste next time and more lime juice and keep with the 3 tbs of fish sauce .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
EXCELLENT! Tastes exactly like Tom Kha Gai soup that I've had at our Thai restaurant. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
great recipe, made it yesterday on a whim. super easy to follow. like many other reviews, i would also suggest watching the video. the fish sauce was a bit too strong for our liking, i would try halfing the amount and just seasoning with salt to taste. i will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I am new to Thai foods and flavors, and this was a perfect way to explore some of these tastes and ingredients. I could not find lemongrass, so I used the zest of one lemon. I also doubled the amount of red curry paste as others suggested. I used Thai Kitchen Red Curry Paste which was not spicy at all as the video suggested. I wonder if he meant "Red Chili Paste"? This was really delicious and full of flavor. I am not an experienced cook, but even I was able to make this. I'll make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
So tasty!!! I used chicken stock instead of broth, added a little salt, doubled the red curry paste, minced the garlic and left it in the stock. I placed the lemongrass and ginger in a colander, boiled them in the chicken stock, and removed the colander after 30 minutes. I also used 3 lbs of chicken thighs and had plenty of broth for each serving. I love, love, love the flavor!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantee Darensburg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Amazing!Perfect balance of flavors. The only thing I have to mention, which I read in other reviews is ...the curry paste isn't very spicy. I added about 2 to 3 times what the recipe called for. Other than that, a keeper! Thanks again, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Fairly bland. I did not cover the pot while simmering the broth with the aromatics and I would recommend doing as so I did not end up with much broth left to mix with the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States