Spicy Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I added a jalapeno, a can of green chilies, and some chili powder.It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
After reading the reviews how it wasn't too spicy (and knowing my ability to handle fiery foods), I kicked things up a notch by seasoning my chicken with red pepper powder (I didn't have precooked chicken, so my soup took a bit longer to make). I also sprinkled about a teaspoon of red pepper flakes over it while everything simmered. Finally, rather than using the diced tomatoes with chiles, I used 1 fresh roma tomato, and diced an entire jalapeno (keeping the seeds and ribs). The end result? Deliciously spicy and savory. Thanks to the low calories, this will be kept in my regular rotation. Thanks, Kathleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This recipe has the added benefit of being healthy. I used the hot variety of diced tomatoes (Rotel brand) and my wife and I both enjoyed the flavor. If you don't like food spicy, go for the regular diced with green chile peppers, or maybe even leave out the chile peppers. This soup recipe should be in the regular rotation for those interested in eating a lean and healthy diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Oh my gosh. This soup is my new obsession. I was searching for a recipe to use Rotel (diced tomatoes and green chiles) and chicken. I decided to try this one out since I had everything at home. I was astonished with how easy it was to make. My husband and I love spice and we were shocked with how spicy this was! I went to the store today to pick up the ingredients so I could make it again and saw there is an original Rotel and mild Rotel. I am thinking the people who didn't notice the spice, used the mild one. I placed tortilla chips on the top and that is the perfect way to finish it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Wow this was spicy, yikes! I used one cup each of celery, frozen peas and carrots, and fresh spinach leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
After reading the reviews, I thought I would have to add more spice. I used the medium tomatoes and green chilies and it was wonderfully spicy. Did not have to add anything. It was delicious, simple and low calorie. Love it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
4 stars for ease but 3 stars for taste. It does need a few customizations. I added seasoned salt, chili powder, cayenne, and a dash of hot sauce (I like it spicy!). The recipe is good as a base ... you can add more vegetables: celery, cabbage, corn, beans - whatever you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnieHR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Yum. I did add some chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and some cayenne to kick up the heat. A great "healing" soup for colds and the like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Very yummy and simple! I added chopped jalapenos, chili powder, and cumin for extra spice. Served with crunched tortilla chips on top. Perfect for someone with a cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I was skeptical that this was going to be good without any cheese or rice or potatos but it was VERY good. I did add 1 tsp of chilli powder, a can of green chiles and a dash of Tabasco. I give it 4 stars as is and can be easily changed to your liking. A good soup recipe for those on a low or no carb diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States