Spicy Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Great recipe and so easy. Used curry powder instead of chili powder, and added cooked cut green beans right at the end. Served over saffron rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This was great. I used chicken stock instead of water and added frozen baby peas and a handful of golden raisins. I had fresh garlic, ginger and turmeric so used those for the paste and powder. Served with brown rice, and even some non curry lovers liked it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pdemann
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is a great recipe. It is easy and delicious. I haven't done a ton of Indian cooking before but this was by far the simplest and fastest Indian dish I have made. I did make one little change to the original recipe, I added a can of coconut milk instead of 2 C of water. It turned out great! I'll definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was just o.k. for me. I have another recipe from the "African and middle eastern cookbook" By Josephine Bacon and Jenni Fleetwood, called Awaze Tibs that is better suited to be made with lamb. The flavor overpowered the chicken i think. I made my own fresh garam masala with a grinder but it tasted to close to a Berbere to me, Might have been the fresh roasted cardamom seeds, i don't know. It wasn't spicy in the sense of a chili pepper as much as it was the fresh spices. Once again i think this is better suited to lamb than chicken. good, but 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Between the chili powder and green chile peppers, you have a very spicy dish indeed. My husband and I enjoy spicy foods, especially curries but this one is lacking a little more flavour than most curry dishes - probably because there not as many spices involved in this dish than most curries. And you must enjoy garam masala, if not, this is not a curry dish you will like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is an excellent, easy to make chicken curry with great flavor, and better yet, it doesn't require the laundry list of ingredients that some other recipes do. For those experimenting with Indian cooking for the first time, I have a few tips and suggestions, as one who makes Indian food more often than not: First of all, the poppy seeds are used to achieve a slightly creamy texture. If you don't have them, use a little more than a tablespoon of unsalted cashews (or use salted and reduce the salt a little) and grind to a coarse powder. You'll get the same effect, and cashews are frequently used in Indian recipes, so the flavor will be great. Second, ginger garlic paste is a shortcut used in Indian cooking for peeling and chopping fresh garlic and ginger. It can be replaced by fresh grated, pressed, or chopped ginger and garlic in a 1:1 ratio for the same total volume. You're better off not using powdered spices here. Finally, you'll get the best flavor using fresh chilies, not canned. If you like a little less spice, use 1-2 jalapenos rather than 4 small hot chilies and reduce the chili powder. Garam masala is not the same as curry powder - it's a less pungent mixture including cloves, cinnamon, mace, pepper, and other spices. I try to avoid substituting the two, and find that garam masala has a milder, less overpowering flavor. It's worth the effort to find it, but you can make your own from commonly available spices. I hope this helps! Happy curry making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
soup not curry- not thick and strong, and without putting in extra heat and using a broth instead of water it wouldn't have been anything at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Delicious - easy to make - going to try it with shrimp and some type of firm white fish. My boyfriend loves whenever I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
i followed the recipe but did not add as much water, 1 cup should be fine...did not use the poppy seeds, and added potatoes served it with parathas and rice...turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
After spicing it up a bit this recipe is great. As for people trying to find poppy seed paste, I believe that the recipe should read "poppy seed, paste" with the paste referring to the ginger/garlic paste. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States