Spicy Chicken Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Very nice soup. Personally, I agree that this recipe is too spicy for my taste. Next time, I'll take the author's advice, and cut back on the amount of green curry paste. A previous reviewer's suggestion for adding a 1/2 cup of rice is also a good idea. I wish to comment on some of the other reviews posted here: It's absurd to rate a recipe you haven't made. When you radically change the recipe before making it, well...you haven't exactly made the recipe, have you? Very minor modifications are one thing. Cutting the broth in half, so it isn't a SOUP, or replacing a carrot for onions and bell peppers are not minor modifications. Reviewers on this site constantly take liberty with recipes (which is great, I do too), but then rate the recipe they radically change. It's a disservice to the recipe author.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I doubled the recipe, but did 2 full carrots and used red curry paste instead. I did one can of lite coconut milk and one can of regular, and I used 1/2 cup of pre-made lime juice instead. I thought this was good, but I think it needs less chicken broth (like 3 cups for 4 servings) to make it thicker like similar soups I've had, and it would probably benefit from some rice (especially basmati rice) and maybe some ground peanuts. Overall, good (and smells REALLY good), but needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was soooo good. We made it with half the chicken broth also because I thought it would get too watery. I thought we had carrots, but I was wrong. So I cut half a yellow onion into strips and sauteed that instead with the garlic. It was just like the curry you get at a thai restaurant. We had this over rice. I also looked at my jar of curry paste, which recommended adding 2 tablespoons brown sugar. Next time I'll probably add the carrots and maybe green peppers. It was so good. We'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I must have gotten the mildest jar of curry in the batch. I purchased a 4 oz bottle of Thai Kitchen Green Curry Paste and following directions, added 2 T. (I had doubled soup recipe because it sounded delish and got good reviews and I was really hungry!) Then I added another T. Then another! It didn't take long before I had emptied the jar into the soup and was barely aware of any spices. So either everyone in the world than me is a weenie or I got a particularly mild bottle. As for the soup, spicy or not, it was delicious. However, I review it delicately, because as someone pointed out, if you change the recipe radically, then you really can't comment on the original recipe. I forgot to pick up green onions, so I ended up using a roughly chopped white onion. And then I had some red and green peppers leftover in the fridge and knowing how pretty that would look, I roughly chopped the peppers and threw them in. (It did look pretty: the red and green of the peppers and the ornage of the carrots against the pale chartreuse of the soup.) Then, because I was still looking for bite, I started sprinkling in caynee, but I stopped rpetty quickly because it was changing the oclor of the soup. I will state that the soup was good, and then adding the fresh squeeze leime juice made it go: "POW!" Totally took it up 4 star. Bon apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
We loved this, with a few additions. Doubled the recipe but did not double the coconut milk. Added extra garlic and yellow onion to start. Added red curry paste and curry powder to intensify flavor. Also, at the end I tossed in drained can of chopped tomatos, fresh spinach and fresh cilantro. Also, used thighs, not breasts. Served over a small mound of rice. PERFECT!!!!!!! Could not stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This soup was ok...but not memorable. The spiciness/pungency of the curry paste you use must vary significantly because 1 tbs did not make mine very flavorful or at all spicy. We were dumping red pepper and soy sauce in our bowls to give it more flavor. I used Thai Kitchen brand which i've enjoyed for other recipes...but if I make this again i'll have to add more than called for even though other reviewers said theirs turned out too spicy. You really have to season to taste with this one. I also added some celery, yellow onion and red bell pepper which was nice. I'll also add less stock so its thicker if there is a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was very tasty with half of the chicken stock and slightly less than the recommended green curry paste. The only reason I gave this 4 instead of 5 stars was because I used a can of whole coconut milk and that made the dish VERY heavy. Be aware that this may be easier to digest with light coconut milk, but perhaps not as tasty. Very yummy otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
A little bland, I'll try again with more curry to spice it up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLSANTIMORE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe. I made this for my family today for supper. A few hours after eating, my husband asked for more. The soup is gone. I usually have leftovers which sit in my refrigerator for a few days, but this soup only lasted for a few hours. I only made a few changes. I didn't have onions so I added an extra clove of garlic. I also added cilantro, just because it adds to the appearance and flavor and used vegetable broth because I didn't have chicken broth. I also used leftover cubed chicken from the other day. I will definitely make this soup again. This has to be my favorite soup I've ever made. Thank you for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as was instructed. It had very little flavor, weird consistancy, and was not in the least bit spicy. The only flavor I could get from the soup was butter, it tasted like chicken in liquid butter sauce and I could not eat it. The other people who ate dinner with me that night ate the food, but it's not something I would ever make again, it was flavorless...except that butter taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ckelly976

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA
Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States