Spicy Chicken Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
A little bland, I'll try again with more curry to spice it up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLSANTIMORE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as was instructed. It had very little flavor, weird consistancy, and was not in the least bit spicy. The only flavor I could get from the soup was butter, it tasted like chicken in liquid butter sauce and I could not eat it. The other people who ate dinner with me that night ate the food, but it's not something I would ever make again, it was flavorless...except that butter taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ckelly976

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA
Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Very tasty! Not too spicy at all. Doubling of the recipe recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy and Ruth
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This soup could not be easier, and really hit the spot on a cold, gray night. I adjusted the seasoning after the first tasting--a tablespoon more green curry, and a tablespoon of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy and Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I started out doubling this recipe but as I progressed I began to realize that this was going to be way too thin for my liking. I ended up using 1/2 the stock and 1/4 of the coconut milk and still ended up putting a big pile of rice in the bowl before serving. Also, I did not find this particularly spicy, but that may be the curry paste's fault. Otherwise the flavor is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
We only had light coconut milk and we used less of the green curry paste so it wouldn't be too spicy for kids. i wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Very nice soup. Personally, I agree that this recipe is too spicy for my taste. Next time, I'll take the author's advice, and cut back on the amount of green curry paste. A previous reviewer's suggestion for adding a 1/2 cup of rice is also a good idea. I wish to comment on some of the other reviews posted here: It's absurd to rate a recipe you haven't made. When you radically change the recipe before making it, well...you haven't exactly made the recipe, have you? Very minor modifications are one thing. Cutting the broth in half, so it isn't a SOUP, or replacing a carrot for onions and bell peppers are not minor modifications. Reviewers on this site constantly take liberty with recipes (which is great, I do too), but then rate the recipe they radically change. It's a disservice to the recipe author.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was soooo good. We made it with half the chicken broth also because I thought it would get too watery. I thought we had carrots, but I was wrong. So I cut half a yellow onion into strips and sauteed that instead with the garlic. It was just like the curry you get at a thai restaurant. We had this over rice. I also looked at my jar of curry paste, which recommended adding 2 tablespoons brown sugar. Next time I'll probably add the carrots and maybe green peppers. It was so good. We'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Yum, yum, yummy! This soup was so good, there wasn't even a drop left in the pot when we were done. The only ingredient that I added was 1/2 cup of cooked basmati rice that I had leftover in my refrigerator. My only regret is that I didn't double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I agree with Sola's modifications. It tastes very nice, and is very spicy. Next time I try this out I will cut the amount of chicken in half to give my wallet more mileage, and add potatoes, maybe broccoli, and perhaps chopped onion. Also I'll probably use less chicken broth than Sola used, half what the original recipe called for to make it thicker and serve with an equal portion of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States