Spicy Cheesy Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Just when my family thought that refried beans couldn't get any better........someone adds cream cheese. I only made one change and that was using pepper-jack instead of cheddar. We fought over these. No, really. My family said they want these beans again........tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Well, this was not the prettiest thing, but boy was it yummy! I only had regular refreid beans, so I used those and added a bit of cayenne in with the mix. My cream cheese was right out of the fridge, so I just put the flame to low and added it in, so that it would melt and combine easier. We really enjoyed these, and I will def be making them again...great way to do something different w/ refried beans! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This is a delicious refried bean recipe! Adding the cream cheese... what a great idea! This side dish will give your main dish some hefty competition for center stage. I also didn't have spicy refried beans so I added 1/8 tsp Cayenne, and I think next time I'll add even more. I also used a mixture of pepper-jack and cheddar cheese. The only thing I'd caution about the recipe is the serving sizes: the recipe says it makes 6 servings, but those would be 6 measly little servings that would only leave you sad and wanting more (each serving would be about 1/3 of a cup, which might be a true "serving," but most people tend to eat more than that for beans). I made the recipe for a dinner with 6 people, and after making one batch, decided I needed to double the recipe. I'm glad I did because at the end of the night there was only a spoonful left, and everyone commented on how yummy they were and kept going back for 2nds, 3rds, and 4ths!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljshrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
When my kids tell me something is sooo good it rates top with me! So simple to make and very tasty. I don't know if they'll eat their refried beans plain ever again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made this, but without the cream cheese. Not terrible. Cream cheese is disgusting enough on it's own and I can't imagine adding it to BEANS... YUK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I have made this recipe twice now. The first time I made it as written (ok, I doubled it because I had an 8 ounce block of cream cheese to use up) and it was ok. The second time I chopped up 4 jalepenos, seeds and all, and tossed them in with the onions and garlic. FANTASTIC! My family won't stop eating my double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Delicious! I wanted to eat the whole dish. My kids usually dont like refried beans as a side, but they actually ate it all. No leftovers for me! I guess I will have to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I had high hopes for this because i love cream cheese but the flavor didn't pair well with the refried beans for me. next time i will just add a layer of cheese in the middle of my beans and bake like usual
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I wasn't a fan of this. Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This was really good. A bit too much garlic for me, but everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States