Spicy Cheese Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This is a dense, bread that's tender on the inside and crusty on the outside with a predominant flavor of Italian seasoning and cayenne pepper. I used fat-free half and half and skim milk. This bread was the perfect accompaniment for soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I didn't care for the spices/herbs in this even though I didn't put in as much as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
So delicious!! I made a few modifications, used 1 c wholewheat flour, 3/4 c white, splash of extra milk (and I used only 1% milk, no half and half) as well as extra cheese and seasonings in the bread and a bit sprinkled on top. Bit of a crunch on the outside, so moist on the inside. This is going to be an addicting recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Very good recipe!! It was so easy to make! It took 30 minutes to mix it up and bake it. I didn't have Italian seasoning, so I used a tsp. of basil and a 1/2 teaspoon oregano. It was wonderful with soup. It is also a good base. I will be trying different cheeses each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Absolutely amazing!! My 5 year old loved it. This recipe is so versatile. I did cut back on the cayenne just a smidge (little over a 1/4tsp) because of my 5 year 5 and 2 year old. I made 8 mini loves (18 mins) and 1 semi mini loaf (22mins) and they came out great. I'm always in search of quick and easy morsels to take to staff meetings. I know this will be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I have made this recipe so many times I can't even count any more! I absolutely love it. I do add some extra garlic powder, onion powder, and Italian seasoning. I usually put a few extra shakes into the batter and sprinkle some on top. I also add a large pinch of extra cheddar cheese and some Parmesan cheese, and I sprinkle these over top before baking as well. It's quite spicy, so I sometimes do more like 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper. I typically use all milk (skim at that!) since I rarely keep half and half in the kitchen. Still turns out great! Crumbly, yes, but awesome flavor and sooo addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
My friends and I did this recipe for our exam in a cooking class. We found the bread fell apart easily, so we did it again as biscuits. It turned out much better and it was such a hit the teacher put it on the Menu as a side. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was really good. I cut the cayenne in half and used low fat cheese and fat free milk to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
OMG this is soooooooo good! i left out the onion because we don't care for oniony things. i used 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup all purpose flour. definitely a keeper! my picky son gave it a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was excellent and ridiculously easy! We all loved this. It has a biscuit-like texture, which went great with the soup I made. The only thing I did differently was leave out the cayenne because I was serving it to a 3 year old. I can't wait to try it spicy. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEVEGGIEONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Pumpkin Bread IV

This pumpkin bread is dense, moist, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States