Spicy Cheese Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I used 1 cup whole wheat flour in place of the all purpose flour, and changed the half and half to yogurt. This was very good bread! I baked it in a 9" pie pan for about 30 minutes, so we could have wedges of bread for supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This is the most delicious bread! And I've made many types of bread over the years. No more running over to Panera when I want a special cheese bread! Thanks a million for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This is the first bread I have ever made, and it turned out very well! I liked the texture-- not too dry, and perfectly moist! The cheese gave it a lovely taste (and pretty orange tinge). The only thing I would leave out is the cayenne pepper, it sorta overpowered the other flavors and left my mouth hot for quite some time. BUT, I am not a spice fan, so I'm sure you spicy-food-lovers will love the recipe with the pepper in it. Thanks a lot! ~Bae
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This is a good basic recipe, but of course I couldn't leave it alone. I didn't have any onion powder or Italian seasoning or enough cheddar cheese. So..I did have basil and oregano and I threw in mozzarella, parmesan and the end of a carton of cottage cheese. The results were very good and I will make this again. Might try rosemary and gouda instead of the spices and cheeses listed. It's a good last minute bread for soup or salad using ingredients that you would have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I didn't want the spicy factor so I just left out the cayenne and everyone gobbled it up! It was very easy and had the consistency of drop biscuits with a nice crunchy crust all around. The heal was to die for! yummy! Next time we may try some green chile inside. Also, I didn't have half-and-half so I just used all milk and it came out fine:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLEKALGREN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Wonderful, fast and easy bread!! Spices can be added or changed according to your meal. I love spicy food, but adding extra Cayenne just doesn't work well with the recipe. I cook it in a pie pan so I can cut it in wedges for dinner - cook time is about 20-25 minutes for this type of pan. I also add about 1/8-1/4 cup more milk, or it seems too dry and dense. It's been a hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I am on a gluten free diet. I made this using a gluten free flour mix. What a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I liked this bread quite a bit. I did alter things a bit. I used half whole wheat and half white flour, decreased the cheese, added some sun dried tomatoes and dropped the oil. It was a dense bread, but I liked it. Its nice to be able to make a fast tasty bread to have with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Absolutely amazing!! My 5 year old loved it. This recipe is so versatile. I did cut back on the cayenne just a smidge (little over a 1/4tsp) because of my 5 year 5 and 2 year old. I made 8 mini loves (18 mins) and 1 semi mini loaf (22mins) and they came out great. I'm always in search of quick and easy morsels to take to staff meetings. I know this will be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This is a dense, bread that's tender on the inside and crusty on the outside with a predominant flavor of Italian seasoning and cayenne pepper. I used fat-free half and half and skim milk. This bread was the perfect accompaniment for soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States