Spicy Catalina Swai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by stephanie
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I just made this. (Blue dish) pretty yummy! I guess I just like my spicy too much, so I added more sriracha. Yummy yummy in my tummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was my first time trying Swai and I am so glad this is the recipe I chose. I was very hesitant because Catalina dressing is a little too sweet for me on a salad but pair it with the other goodies in this recipe and slap it on fish and you have yourself a winner. It is rather spicy though so if you are sensitive to that you might want to leave out the crushed pepper flakes or cut back on the Sriracha. Can't wait to try this one on catfish this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I eliminated then Catalina dressing and cooked it in the oven instead of a grill. It turned out really good, my girlfriend and I both loved it. Nice spicy flavor, but not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This was a very good recipe. The fish was not the typical flavor and that was good. We have made this twice. The second time we subbed out the mustard for Curry Powder and it gave the fish a really interesting zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chip Dunning

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hebron, Indiana, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
To begin with we love Swai fish fillets. When following a recipe, I always try my best to follow the directions exactly before commenting on a dish on this website. However, with this dish we had to make our own Catalina dressing as we didn't have any on hand. I don't like white pepper so I left that out as well. The fish turned out perfectly. It took 12 minutes to cook them and the sauce was great. We have never had Swai cooked like that so it was a nice change. I made some refried rice to go with the fish and together it was as good as any oriental restaurant has to offer. The only thing I can add is the next time we make this dish together it will include the normal Catalina dressing and not our own concoction. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy bar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
My husband and I didn't like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vella_marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is very good. Does have a little heat but not too much. Did not have the chili-garlic sauce. I used garlic and chili powder and threw in some parm chese along with the other dry spices, left out the mustard, and made it a dry rub that I sprinkeled on after rolling in the catalina dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rvanhoy72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albemarle, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
First off this was awesome! Now my grill is out of order so I thought I can adapt this to the oven. Also I didn't have Catalina dressing, but I did have Dorothy Lynch which I think is similar. So I used just a shade less than 1/2 C of Dorothy Lynch instead of Catalina. I didn't have white pepper so I put in just 1/4 tsp of black pepper total, for fear that it might be too much. Other than that I kept the ingredients the same. I smeared the sauce on the fillets and then baked them uncovered in a baking dish for 20 minutes at 425 degrees. I cooked 2 fillets, but the recipe made enough for 3 or 4. It is a little spicy but I like spice, and I love Sriracha so it worked for me. I was worried that the 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder would be too much, but it was perfect. I think next time I might cut the temp back to 400 or cover the dish because some of the sauce ran off the fillet into the dish and did start to burn a little. Thanks for submitting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States