Spicy Cajun Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Spicy Cajun Cabbage Haiku: "Barely kept this down. We like it hot in this house. But this was 'gritty.'" I made the entire seasoning blend, but only used half of it in the dish, and even used more than the suggested 5-ish c. of chopped cabbage, but this was nearly edible due to the "grittiness" of all of those dried spices. Thank goodness for the plain buttered egg noodles that I made to serve this over b/c they helped cut some of the spice and grit. Every bite, while super-spicy, was like eating on the beach w/ sand blowing in your mouth. I'm just glad that it was a cheap meal to make so I didn't mind tossing the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Very, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
having read the reviews before making this i figured i'd just halve the seasonings but unfortunately it was still too strong.. i started out by adding a dash or two of both worcestershire and white wine vinegar.. and then added some soy sauce and lemon to make it more palatable.. i'm so sad b/c i had higher hopes for this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is a really, really good recipe. After reading the other reviews I cut down the cayenne to 1/4 tsp. I like spice but I can't have much. :) Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I love this! I added garlic powder and lime juice for some tang and it kicked it up a notch! Oh and more butter, can never have enough butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I've been trying to search for a recipe that spice up my cabbage. This is the best recipe I've ever found. I make this at least once a week and my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Loved this as I love spicy foods, but next time will slightly turn down the heat by reducing amount of chili pepper. I didn't have cayenne so used red pepper flakes. Will be making this often with garden fresh cabbage. For color may add red and yellow peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This was delicious! My husband even said that it was the first time he'd ever had cabbage that he hadn't hated! Two of my three kids really liked it too. I found the spice mix to be a little spicy and next time would not put in as much cayenne and chilli, and I didn't use all of the spice mix either. I used about 1/2 of it. To counter the over-spiciness, I added some cream at the end of cooking, and it made it lovely and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This is a pretty solid side dish. A little spicy for some I imagine but the spice blend works well . I followed the directions very close (for me) and my dish looked like the photo pretty much, still with some texture in the cabbage. If you get a bad smell, you over-cooked it. Then why not a higher rating? It is just missing something to elevate it to another level. Two dimensional if you will. What? I'm not sure maybe thin sliced turkey neck or the old faithful bacon. I like Carolyn's idea. Worth taking your own spin on it, I will By the way, the leftovers will make an excellent Mexican slaw by adding oil, vinegar and course pepper. Reno
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I loved the way these flavors sounded but I was looking for a cold side, so I mixed all the spices with a mayo/sour cream combo added a bit of sugar and vinegar and the result totally wow'd my BF and myself. Super yummy cajun flavors! Great with BBQ chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Cabbage Kimchi

See how to make spicy, slightly sweet fermented cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States