Spicy Cabbage Kimchi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ryan
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I can fix the saltiness issue. I've made kimchi a few times and this recipe is very similar to the one I use and love. After you rub the salt into the cabbage and let it sit for only about 30 minutes, you should then immerse the cabbage in a large bowl of water for 2 hours. Put a dinner plate on the top to make sure all the cabbage is submerged. The salt's role is to kill the bad bacteria and only add a teeny bit of flavor. After it's done soaking rinse the cabbage very thoroughly. I usually put it in a colander, rinse it well by hand and then rinse it in a water bath 2 or 3 times. Changing the water each time. Kimchi is one of those foods that takes a loooong time to make. I usually put everything that this recipe has and some diakon matchsticks into a mason jar with a rubber seal in a cabinet for 3-5 days (pushing the contents below the surface of the brine everyday) and then refridgerate for a week. Then, boom, it's kimche eating time! Added a photo of mine just for the heck of it. That's an 8 cup mason jar. Larger than most. Bud Ice is not part of the recipe, but when you complete everything at 2am, like I did that time, it might find its way into the photo. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffern, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Maggie
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I sprinkle the salt as I layer since a lot of people said it's really salty. Then I let it sit in room temperature and mix the veggies with my hands. It only takes less than 2 hour for the water to come out. I rinse it 3 times to make sure all the salt are rinse off. Then I use fresh chopped ginger instead of ground, and I use half korean chile powder and half korean chile paste. The mix turns out really good. The only problem is...I put in container and store in my pantry for 4 days. Nice and dark and dry. On the 4th day, OMG it is sooooooo sour!!! I should of just let it sit for a day then put it in the fridge. So this batch will only use for kimchi soup. Will make another batch to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Okay. I read about the nutritional benefits of kimchi so before I made this recipe, I bought a small jar from the store to try just to be sure I'd like it. I did really liked it but did not like the price. I found this recipe and read all of the reviews first. Here is what I did. I cut up 1 head of napa cabbage and 1 head of bok choy then put it in zip lock bags. I just sprinkled with salt from my salt shaker...likely less than 1/2 tsp for each of the 2 bags. I let it sit on the counter for about 4 hours then rinsed well. Added jicama, fresh ginger (a lot!), and grated carrot in addition to stated ingredients. Waited 3 days-outside temps starting to warm up! Noticed bubbles so just put the 2 jars in the fridge. Tasted it and it was better than the store bought jar and not salty at all. I will likely try many of the suggested ingredients in the future because I loved making this and really enjoy eating it! Thank you for the recipe and all of the reviews as I always read them and learn from personal tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
As written after squeezing out the water I have no liquid left to cover the vegetables. I added a tiny bit of salt (I cut down on original amount and am worried about spoilage) and topped off with kefir whey. Results in four days. Stay tuned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This is my second batch. I use regular American Cabbage....cheaper than Napa...what I do for the salt is sprinkle some on my cutting board and chop and roll it around. You can always add more. I don't like a lot of salt either. The beauty of this receipe is that you can make it your own. Today I'm trying it with some sliced carrot and a diced apple. I will use brown sugar instead of white sugar and I found a spicy sweet red pepper paste. Didn't feel like spending $7.00 on a spice I wasn't sure I would like. This is the easiest recipe I have found for kimchi. Thank you so much for sharing this with us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This will make your recipe easier,(or not depending on you :) ) you don't have to salt the cabbage. You can mix it all together and salt to taste(1/2 cup or so) let it set in a covered tub/large bowl for 24hrs, put it jars and refrigerate. We add 2 pears, 2 apples,(Blend one with the 1/2 onion)2 leaks(instead of the green onion) 1-2 oranges, one lemon, 1 Korean radish, 3-4 sliced carrots and 1 tablespoon honey instead sugar. Make sure you get the right Korean pepper powder. If you don't know go to your local Korean store and ask. BTW there are only 7000 known kimchi recipes in the library in Korea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Everything great except way to much salt.Quarter the salt and rinse well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have not made this recipe yet, however for those of you who cant find the Korean pepper powder try going to an exclusive aisian market (which is normally run by Koreans) and ask for " KO CH'U GA RU " They should know exactly what you're talking about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
It is super easy! As much as we eat kimchi around here it is a life saver. I had tried other recipies for kimchi and it never turned out right. If the recipe seems to salty for you make sure you rinse your cabbage well before adding spices. Also if it is too hot for you add more sugar. Thanks for sharing! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Cabbage Kimchi

See how to make spicy, slightly sweet fermented cabbage.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States