Spicy Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I make steamed brussels sprouts all the time -- if you steam them for as long as 30 minutes, first of all your pan will boil dry and second of all, they will basically cook down into mush. Monitor as they cook to reach your desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Delicious and loved the spice! Added 2tbsp bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
SPICY! Don't cook them to mush
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Very different - and tasty! I agree with other reviewers. 8 mins is probably enough time to steam them - 30 would be way too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BK
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Taste was good - strong dijon mustard flavor. Agree with the others that if you were to steam brussels sprouts for 30 minutes, they would be mush. I did 10, and that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was a nice spin on brussel sprouts, I used a New York Style mustard because I didn't have Dijon mustard, the flavor was kind of strong but in a good way...yummy! I also steamed for about 15-20 minutes instead of 30 minutes. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chunky Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
The flavor was excellent however 10 minutes was more than enough on the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This recipe has become a favorite of my husband's. Before preparing brussel sprouts this way, I couldn't interest him in even having them! I have shared this recipe with my son and other friends! Definitely worth a try. I have also baked fresh brussel sprouts in the oven and then added the sauce. I prepare fresh asparagus this way also. 375 degrees in an olive oil covered jelly roll pan for 18 to 20 minutes. Very healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Tastes great! Very spicy though. I did it in my rice cooker and they turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This was absolutely outstanding! If you like food with a kick, definately give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States