Spicy Brown Mustard Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I love this recipe and so does my picky boyfriend. I add some honey to the mustard mix to add a bit of sweetness. I have also used both stone ground and Dijon and it works well either way. For the bread crumbs I always used ritz type crackers and add classic Italian herbs and grated Parmesan. Which I believe make the best coating. The last suggestion I have is to make cuts into the chicken, just over half way through the breast, and add minced garlic into the slices. It add a nice flavor and keeps the chicken incredibly moist. Oh yeah, and I also leave out the lemon juice because I rarely like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
The first time I made this it was with a generic 'spicy brown mustard,' and I was disappointed with the lack of flavor. Then I made it again using prepared Coleman's English mustard and, boy, did it make a difference! Really tangy and delicious! The only change I make is to add a little finely-grated Parmesan to the bread crumbs. I would also consider mixing a tbsp of honey with the mustard. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was so good! I pretty much stuck to the recipe with the exception of the following: Used unseasoned panko crumbs, Olivio instead of butter, and I baked it for 30 minutes on 425 degrees. I also removed the foil for the last 7 minutes of cooking to crisp it up. Topped with a pinch of locatelli romano, which I also mixed about 2 tablespoons in with the panko. It was so delicious, I will be making this again. Low calorie too! Served with roasted asparagus spears, and brown n' serve rolls for the man in the house. Excellent! In a later version of this, I put fresh mushrooms in the dish and let them bake with the chicken. Oh my! This recipe is now a weekly favorite at mi casa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I had never baked chicken before and this turned out great! I used german mustard with about 1.5 lbs. of free-range chicken filets. It was really easy too (though be prepared to get your hands messy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Fantastic recipe! It was quick and easy and tasted great. We loved the spicy mustard flavor. Everyone enjoyed it, I served it with mashed potatoes with onoin and chive cream cheese mixed in and carrots and gravy. YUM YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was really good with a few modifications. I added a dash of worcestershire sauce and used panko style bread crumbs along with a shake of parmesan cheese on top before baking. I thought it was baking up kind of dry even with the butter so I poured a small amount of chicken broth in the pan to moisten them up. The end result was a moister more flavorful chicken breast. I would make this again with my same revisions. I also used 2 kinds of mustard. Half stone ground and half Golden's spicy brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Pretty good overall but here are a few suggestions: I used a Dijon mustard=very good! But go easy on the lemon/water drizzle because the chicken was swimming in greasy water to the point where the crumbs didn't stick. Broil the chicken for the last couple minutes to keep it crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
We loved this recipe! I didn't have brown mustard on hand so we used dijon. We love adding garlic to every recipe but didn't this time- and it was VERY tasty without. I did add extra Italian seasoning to the breadcrumbs about a TBS. This was VERY tasty and VERY moist! I cooked it for 10 minutes longer than stated with the cover on as my chicken was still frozen. GREAT RECIPE! 3 Kids under 8 loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Chicken with mustard & bread crumbs. :l It looked better than it tasted. I scraped off the coating & used the chicken for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Not great but very good. I needed more bread crumbs than the recipe called for but other than that everything worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States