Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Thanks to Fishyon for pointing out the error in my recipe. In step 3, I forgot to say what to do with the other half of the oil. Step 3 should read: Heat half of the oil in a large skillet or wok over medium-high heat. Add the bok choy stems first; stir fry for a few minutes or until the pieces start to turn a pale green. When stems are almost cooked, add the remaining oil and the leaves; cook and stir until leaves are wilted, 1 to 2 minutes. Remove from the heat and transfer the bok choy to a serving dish. Pour the sauce into the skillet or wok, and set over medium-high heat. Cook, stirring constantly, until sauce has thickened slightly, about 3 minutes. Pour over the bok choy and toss lightly to coat. Once the recipe is published, Allrecipes will not make changes to it. They suggested that I post a comment here which seems odd since I have to include a rating. Naturally, it gets five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Very good flavor, although I'd cut down on the sugar a bit more! I added several more cloves of garlic, so I'm not sure how the original would taste. Along with the bok choy, I also added matchstick carrots and a few quartered button mushrooms, and I subbed palm sugar for the brown sugar, as I had it on hand. Because of others' warnings that it made a lot of sauce, I added the entire dish to about 2 cups of cooked Japanese noodles (similar to angel hair pasta) at the end of cooking, and it turned out great. I think the recipe would benefit from one or two thai/bird chilis instead of the pepper flakes, so I'm going to try that the next time I make it. Warning for those who are new to bok choy: make sure you soak it well to assure all sand/dirt is gone. I bought mine from the farmers market and had to change the soaking water 4x until the sand was gone! It would have been awful if I'd have not realized that necessity ahead of time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was delicious!!! Both my husband and I loved it. I didn't change a thing, except adding 1 tbsp of sake. It came out GREAT. As other reviewers have said, it does make a lot of sauce, but it's perfect to serve with rice. The sauce is delicious, I want to stir fly other veggies using this sauce!!! Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laneko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
okay, i made this recipe the first time just as the directions mentioned. it was wonderful and everyone really enjoyed it. last night, i added shitake mushrooms and onions. delicious! i will add this one to my book. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Loads of flavor for a quick and simple side dish. Not a fan of the ginger, however, so next time I'll leave it out - along with the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
The flavors are amazing!! I didn't have ginger root or oyster sauce and it still tasted great. I used chili sauce instead of red pepper flakes and olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I will definitely be using this recipe again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
The sauce for this recipes is awesome and full of flavor! I made it exactly according to the recipe. I am new to stir fry so I was leary of the oyster sauce (hate oysters so why would I want to flavor my food with it) but it turned out awesome. The second time I made it I added a little corn starch to the liquid to thicken it a bit since the sauce is very thin. I will definitely do that from now on. Also, if you like the taste of fresh ginger, but don't feel like you use it often enough, buy a root and freeze it. Whenever I have a recipe that calls for ginger, I pull out my frozen ginger root, shave off a few pieces with my knife and pop it back in the freezer until next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
BAM!! The flavours and crunchiness of the bok choy are amazing combination. I can't stop eating it. Even better the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Delicious bok choy. This does make a lot of sauce, probably more than you need. I used 3 heads of baby bok choy and had plenty of sauce left over, so I threw a pork chop in it overnight and pan-fried it the next day. Absolutely delicious, and a great use of the leftover sauce as a marinade. I will try this with brocolli later today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
After reading the recipe and all of the reviews, I knew I would enjoy this recipe. I wanted to make it a main dish so I doubled the sauce, following the recipe to a "T". I used about 1 1/2 pounds of bok choy, about 3 cups of fresh broccoli, 6 small carrots juliened, 1/2 large onion and 6 cloves of garlic. I quick fried each of the vegetables separately adding the oil as needed and starting with the onions and garlic. After frying all of the vegetables I added the "Baked Tofu Bites" from this site that I made last night then poured the double batch of sauce over all and tossed. A very hearty and flavorful dish. I have saved this one and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rita, Santa Rita, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States