Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
this was just ok. It was pretty bland as is. After i added some lime juice, cayenne pepper and more garlic it was much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Half way through preparing the recipe I realized I didn't have Oyster Sauce, so I subbed equal parts Hoison Sauce and Black Bean Sauce (because both tasted good to me). Probably should have just used the BB Sauce because this came out a tad sweet (my fault).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
SO YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seminole, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Sauce for this is awesome! We double the sauce amount because it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I fell in love with garlic bok choy after having it in a chinese restaurant. We moved away from that restaurant and have stuggled to find another place that made it the same way. It's simple, but easy to mess up. I've tried several times to make it at home but it never tasted quite right. Well, FINALLY!! This recipe is it!! It's better than the original bok choy that I fell in love with. I used ginger spice instead of fresh ginger and used 4 garlic cloves instead of 2, and used baby bok choy. I highly suggest trying the baby version of this veggie. Just cut off the bottoms and toss them in. Some of the leaves will fall off and you will be left with some yummy, crunchy hearts that are still small enough to fit in your mouth. Yes, it's pricier, but worth it. Make sure not to overcook the boy choy. It's best with a little crunch. And yes, there was enough sauce leftover to save or pour over rice/noodes. I could literally eat this recipe every day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This was tasty and a great way to use bok choy. I added cashews, cooking them along with the stems, and would definitely highly recommend it. They added a lot to the overall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Gotta like that Bok Choy! I thought it had a little too much oil, so next time I will cut out the vegetable oil all together and add a little water in its place. Other than that, this is a simple and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Absolutely loved this! I didn't have brown sugar so I substituted raw sugar. Will definitely be using this recipe a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and was very very pleased. Next time I think I'd add a little more crushed red pepper - I like spicy! My four year old didn't care for this, but he really liked the sauce over his rice. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Very good recipe. Well balanced flavor, although I used honey instead of the brown sugar. the description on how to cook the bok choy was right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States