Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was a hit! Since bok choy wilts upon cooking (like other leafy greens), I will purchase 2lbs next time & double the sauce. I used baby bok choy & my family of 3 was fighting over the veggies because 1lb wasn't enough. I omitted the oyster sauce since I didn't have it on hand. As others have stated, the sauce was awesome. Nice combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickettFence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
i've been looking for a good oyster sauce for a while
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Pretty good. I made it without the sesame oil (an allergic family member or I'd have used it) and had it with white rice for dinner. Nothing else. The bok choy I used was a huge bunch. Giant. Even the picky eater liked it. Yay and thanks Spyce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Delicious! The good thing about this sauce is that you can use it with any hearty, leafy greens. My kids LOVE this one as opposed to other similar recipes because this adds a hint of sweetness with the brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I'm still trying to get the sauce the way I like it, but that is not the recipe's fault. Yummy even as I'm learning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Grew bok choy in our garden and used this recipe for the last of it. Enjoyed it and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgbeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I used about 3 lbs bok choy to the sauce and it was bland, I'll make sure to use more sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Hale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
helped cooking the stems first, i added some juliann baby carrots here and followed the recipe as it was. great dish, even my kids ate it without complaining! there was too much of the sauce left over but it's not like i'm complaining since we saved it for toppings on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Added extra garlic and ginger and no oyster sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
After reading the recipe and all of the reviews, I knew I would enjoy this recipe. I wanted to make it a main dish so I doubled the sauce, following the recipe to a "T". I used about 1 1/2 pounds of bok choy, about 3 cups of fresh broccoli, 6 small carrots juliened, 1/2 large onion and 6 cloves of garlic. I quick fried each of the vegetables separately adding the oil as needed and starting with the onions and garlic. After frying all of the vegetables I added the "Baked Tofu Bites" from this site that I made last night then poured the double batch of sauce over all and tossed. A very hearty and flavorful dish. I have saved this one and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rita, Santa Rita, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States