Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I don't make bok choy often, but we really enjoyed this! I served it over plain white basmati so that the sauce from the bok choy could be enjoyed with the rice! We had spicy shrimp on the side, very yummy meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Easy, fast and very tasty recipe for Bok Choy. This was a grand slam. I think this dish could make a great base for a chop suey variant by adding other vegetables to the dish. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made bok choy for the first time a few months ago, when I decided to find a good recipe after hearing about the health benefits. I did omit a couple of ingredients: ginger (we don't like it) and oyster sauce (couldn't find it at the market), and dark agave instead of brown sugar! The whole family loved this recipe, and I make it frequently now! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Yummy sauce!! I steamed some broccoli and threw that into the mix as well. A very tasty side to a steak dinner :) FYI I didn't have oyster sauce so I subbed hoisen sauce and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luvin Spoonful
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Quick, easy and tasty! I added shrimp with the finishing sauce. This dish does not need rice as an accompaniment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvin Spoonful

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This recipe was soooo yummy! I broiled some salmon with lemon and salt and then ate the bok choy and fish over a big bowl of white rice- the sauce poured over it just made this dish so umami! I think next time I will cut the bok choy into smaller pieces and use half the oil. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I omitted the ginger (don't care for it), used vegetarian mushroom oyster sauce (to make it vegetarian), and used Sriracha instead of the red pepper flakes. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I got Bok Choy in my CSA box this week so I tried out this recipe, we'd never had it before so it was a tasty experiment. The recipe is pretty good, I added some red Chinese long beans I grew for color and flavor and served it over brown sticky rice. I used the extra sauce to glaze some shrimp skewers and broiled them, just perfect for this. It could use a tad more ginger and garlic, but otherwise it was well liked by the whole family, even my 8 year old. I'd eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Greenfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden, Missouri, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I love this recipe! I use the garlic sauce for all of my stir-fries. I especially like to add tofu to the bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ezmars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
great use for my extra bok choy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri McCall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States