Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by NomNom
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Great, basic recipe! The trick with the sauce is to let it simmer away for about 3-4 mins to get it nice and thick. That way it isn't watery, yet you don't need cornstarch. I followed the recipe exactly the first time I made it, and continue to experiment by adding different veggies and proteins. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was a wonderful and easy dish... my only substitution was I used sriracha hot chili sauce as my husband suggested and it worked out great. Love this recipe... Try it, if you haven't:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking for DaJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Sobrante, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cryduchat
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Loved it! I left out the oyster sauce, used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, used 1/4 tsp of whole red pepper flake, and threw in some diced turkey keilbasa. Turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cryduchat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
thought it was great. careful not to overcook i over cooked mine a little and i think it would have been a bit better if i had been more "gentle" with the greens. flavor was wonderful the only reason i gave four stars is because it was a bit watery i think you could get by with not adding any water at all. i followed the recipe and i think mine as overcooked because i was waiting to cook down the sauce so it would thicken like the recipe said. i used a jar of pre-prepared stir-fry garlic and ginger paste. about four bucks in the refrigerated fresh herb section. really saved on time. flavor was great will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Great recipe for bok choy. I've been growing it for awhile but needed a new recipe for bugger. I didn't have quite enough garlic so I chopped some fresh basil which went well. I also used some fresh garden broccoli shoots which gave the dish a little more texture. Paired it with some brown rice and had a great meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Faith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was our first time making bok choy and we loved this recipe! We added some other veggies but otherwise left the recipe the same. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is a keeper followed to a t and will be making again, thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
BAM!! The flavours and crunchiness of the bok choy are amazing combination. I can't stop eating it. Even better the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I would add some cornstarch to the sauce to help it thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Since it is sauteed in oil first, the sauce just slips off the bok choy and doesn't permeate. I put the sauce on the fish I cooked with it, and all enjoyed. Need another bok choy recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States