Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I made this recipe last weekend, when my husband invited two of his buddies over for dinner. Everyone loved it and asked for recipe. I followed the recipe to the dot.... with one exception.... instead of 1TBS of brown sugar, I used 1 TSP of brown sugar. Our family tries to cut down on sugar consumption, and everyone agreed that 1 TSP was the right amount... just enough to elevate all the flavours in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
We have a winner! I had never cooked bok choy before but had to deal with the two heads that came in my friend's share of a CSA while she was on vacation. We loved it! I used slightly less ginger and added shitake mushrooms. I will definitely make this quick veggie dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Delicious!! Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairie Epicurian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
You cant go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I substituted a few things based on what I had in my garden and what I didn't have in my pantry. I used jalapeño instead of red pepper flakes, used powdered ginger, added cilantro, and sesame seeds. It was delicious. I wouldn't recommend the jalapeño substitution unless you really like it hot! I think the cilantro and sesame seeds were good additions. I think fresh ginger would have made it even better. I am going to make it again today with bok choy from my garden. I also used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Excellent! I think the name is a bit misleading in that the dominant flavour isn't really garlic. The bok choy was swimming in the sauce when we were done. The sauce seemed to water right down once it hit the bok choy so I used that to pour over brown rice. Delish! We are not bok choy lovers but this worked really well for us. Thanks for sharing your recipe Spyce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Simple, tasty, and attractive. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Flavor was good, but sauce was watery. I also added some carrot and chicken. Was tasty, but liked other stir fry recipes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is a very good Bok Choy recipe, & the sauce is especially good on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Excellent. Made it 4 or five times over this Winter using what is called Shanghai Bok Choi in Toronto. Now experimenting by sautéing Portobello mushrooms, returning these to the pot near end, adding sliced water chestnuts for crunch, have added shrimp at last 4 minutes, very versatile recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doone
Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States