Spicy Bok Choy Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Great, bold flavor! I omitted the jalapeno (I'm pregnant and can't tolerate super spicy right now) and subbed a few shakes of red pepper flakes, and I used fresh ginger because I don't have ground, and baby bok choy because it's what I had from the CSA. I used half the dressing, and that was plenty. I think the dressing really makes this salad--it's tangy and mustardy, but not overpowering. This would also be great with cabbage instead of bok choy. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Sensational dressing! I adore spicy food and this hit the spot. Spicy-hot, tangy and slightly sweet; perfect side dish, but it would be fantastic on a hamburger, burrito, soft tacos, wraps, noodle soup and more. I used cabbage and serrano peppers. Will definitely make again to share! Thanks JWM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I have a ton of bok choy from the local farm, we can't eat mayo so we were missing out on Cole slaw... this is good. Only used four jalapenos tho. There is way too much dressing so I strained it after I realized it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This is really good! I used four jalapenos and that was too much heat for me, so will use three next time. I am also going to marinate some steak in the dressing and then stir fry it. I think this recipe will make a great marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is a fantastic tasting, zingy salad! I cut 1 star for it being too hot for the average person and for the "shredding of cucumbers". P.I.T.A.! First time I made this, I followed recipe exactly, but with just two minor adjustments based on previous reviews: 1)I only had 20 minutes for it to sit/marinade before serving time. 2)I poured out about a third of the "vinaigrette" before serving-other reviews said it was too soggy (and made better for leftovers, too!). Five Jalapeno's is very tasty-hot, and we loved it, but is not for anyone that can't tolerate hot/spicy. I suggest reduce the Jalapeno's to 2 or 4, depending on the company you're serving. The ginger at the end is a nice unique flavor with this salad. Don't forget it. Best easy recipe for Bok Choy yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Sorry, I didn't much care for this recipe, but I must admit that I didn't add as many peppers as stated (I admit it - I didn't add any cherry peppers, and only 1 jalapeno). As written, it was just way too spicy for me, but I love bok choy, so I decided to try the recipe anyway, thinking it would still be good. It turned out extremely vinegary and bitter. I'm sure it is great as written though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I really liked this recipe. However, I used twice as much bok choy and none of the cherry peppers or cucumbers. It may be a little too tangy for my taste, but a great dressing, none-the-less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ezmars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
ATE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States