Spicy Black and Red Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This makes a ton which is great. It's not spicy at all and I failed to read the reviews beforehand or I would have known to add more spice. I omitted the sugar and can't tell that it was missed. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I liked this recipe however in its written form is not spicy at all. I am a fan of really spicy foods so I added 1 tbsp of cayenne pepper, jalapeno powder, chili powder, and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
vegan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was very good. I followed the advice of others and added 1 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp salt, few shakes of cyane pepper, 1 tsp cumin. It could have used more than 1 tsp of everything. Once you get the spices correct, this will be a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbynme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patchogue, New York, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This soup was okay. The name implies that the soup is spicy. It is not spicy at all. In fact we thought it was a bit bland. We all ate it but I don't think anyone thoroughly enjoyed it. Don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I added smoked sausage, red wine vinegar, basil, and oregano to make a very good chilly day meal. I like to make soup on weekends when we get company in and out during the day, this soup kept everybody happy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I took other's advise and added cumin. garlic powder, chili powder. However it needs salt. Was a little surprised by the sweetness of the first bite but it soon grew on me. Nice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLissa and Phillip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
OK, I saw this recipe and freaked out! I soaked 1 cup black beans and 1 cup of cranberry beans overnight. I rinsed and boiled them w/red pepper flakes, in chx broth; sauteed japs, 1/2 onion, & 4 big garlic cloves. I chopped 3 Romas and threw 'em in; had no carrots. Everybody now goes in the crock pot (high) 5 hrs-adding spices. After 5 hrs. I added Rotelle w/green peppers and 1 can of corn (drained) and 2 more cups of chx broth. Garnish w/chopped onion, sour cream, and shredded cheddar! Dip Italian bread in this and you'll freak out at the flavour/spices!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wild bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Very good, smelled really good cooking. I had to add some seasoning to the dish salt & cayenne pepper. I also added small jalepeno chopped pepper. I served over rice, my son ate it on a tortilla with hot sauce and sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Great starter soup. I added spices as recommended by others and smoked sausage. I ended up serving it over rice. My hubby loved it so I hope to make it again this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States