Spicy Black and Red Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This makes a ton which is great. It's not spicy at all and I failed to read the reviews beforehand or I would have known to add more spice. I omitted the sugar and can't tell that it was missed. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I liked this recipe however in its written form is not spicy at all. I am a fan of really spicy foods so I added 1 tbsp of cayenne pepper, jalapeno powder, chili powder, and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
vegan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was very good. I followed the advice of others and added 1 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp salt, few shakes of cyane pepper, 1 tsp cumin. It could have used more than 1 tsp of everything. Once you get the spices correct, this will be a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbynme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patchogue, New York, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This soup was okay. The name implies that the soup is spicy. It is not spicy at all. In fact we thought it was a bit bland. We all ate it but I don't think anyone thoroughly enjoyed it. Don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I added smoked sausage, red wine vinegar, basil, and oregano to make a very good chilly day meal. I like to make soup on weekends when we get company in and out during the day, this soup kept everybody happy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I took other's advise and added cumin. garlic powder, chili powder. However it needs salt. Was a little surprised by the sweetness of the first bite but it soon grew on me. Nice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLissa and Phillip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
OK, I saw this recipe and freaked out! I soaked 1 cup black beans and 1 cup of cranberry beans overnight. I rinsed and boiled them w/red pepper flakes, in chx broth; sauteed japs, 1/2 onion, & 4 big garlic cloves. I chopped 3 Romas and threw 'em in; had no carrots. Everybody now goes in the crock pot (high) 5 hrs-adding spices. After 5 hrs. I added Rotelle w/green peppers and 1 can of corn (drained) and 2 more cups of chx broth. Garnish w/chopped onion, sour cream, and shredded cheddar! Dip Italian bread in this and you'll freak out at the flavour/spices!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wild bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Very good, smelled really good cooking. I had to add some seasoning to the dish salt & cayenne pepper. I also added small jalepeno chopped pepper. I served over rice, my son ate it on a tortilla with hot sauce and sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Great starter soup. I added spices as recommended by others and smoked sausage. I ended up serving it over rice. My hubby loved it so I hope to make it again this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States