Spicy Black and Red Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
I have been making this exact recipe for a couple of years. Funny how this matches the one of have been making from COOKING LIGHT. Aren't these supposed to be your own original recipes? Great soup recipe COOKING LIGHT came up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Easy recipe; family enjoyed it. Makes enough for two dinners for family of four. Couldn't find frozen shoepeg corn, so used regular frozen corn, and served with warm tortillas, and topped soup with shredded cheese. Tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I made this for supper last night and did add extra garlic and cayanne pepper and it came out perfect. What a nice little zing it had!!! Matter of fact, looking at the recipe this morning I noticed I had forgotten the diced tomatoes. Forgetting this ingredient I was still very impressed with this soup, so I wont add this ingredient to my left overs, but I may possibly(?) add this the next time I make this. Great recipe Chelsea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Super yummy and healthy!! I made the following adaptations: vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, only one can of tomatoes, used a full cup of green chiles, used one minced hot pepper, and cayenne pepper to taste. With those adjustments, it was hot to our liking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyMeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Really good. This has become a staple at our house. We love to mix in a spoonful of sour cream to our bowls and sprinkle with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This is a great crockpot recipe, especially for church suppers. I use only black beans,instead of kidney beans, and spice the soup up with cumin and chili powder. This is a favorite at church and in our home on those cold New England evenings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was a great soup, I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Yum! Followed the directions exactly and then added cumin and chili powder as others suggested, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
The sugar and onions in this recipe go together really well! Very healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This was great! I added a little cumin, cayenne and chili seasoning as others suggested. I also added cooked smoked sausage. I will add this to the list of dinners! The kids and hubby ate it up! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States