Spicy Black and Red Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I agree that this is a good, basic soup recipe. I also had to "spice" it up a bit by adding cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, black pepper, cayenne pepper, red wine vinegar, oregano, and basil. Adjust to your own taste, and you've got a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I loved the basics of this soup - you had no spices OR "love" so I added a whole lot of cumin, chili powder, cayanne pepper, wayy more garlic and a can of creamed corn. I blended up a can of pinto beans and the tomatoes (sweet onion) to make it a bit thicker. Great Base reciepe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Super yummy and healthy!! I made the following adaptations: vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, only one can of tomatoes, used a full cup of green chiles, used one minced hot pepper, and cayenne pepper to taste. With those adjustments, it was hot to our liking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyMeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
OK, I saw this recipe and freaked out! I soaked 1 cup black beans and 1 cup of cranberry beans overnight. I rinsed and boiled them w/red pepper flakes, in chx broth; sauteed japs, 1/2 onion, & 4 big garlic cloves. I chopped 3 Romas and threw 'em in; had no carrots. Everybody now goes in the crock pot (high) 5 hrs-adding spices. After 5 hrs. I added Rotelle w/green peppers and 1 can of corn (drained) and 2 more cups of chx broth. Garnish w/chopped onion, sour cream, and shredded cheddar! Dip Italian bread in this and you'll freak out at the flavour/spices!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wild bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I spiced it up with extra garlic, chili powder, cumin and cayenne pepper. I also used dried beans instead of canned (soaked and simmered for a couple of hours), because I had them. But this was really good and super healthy! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Easy recipe; family enjoyed it. Makes enough for two dinners for family of four. Couldn't find frozen shoepeg corn, so used regular frozen corn, and served with warm tortillas, and topped soup with shredded cheese. Tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Really good. This has become a staple at our house. We love to mix in a spoonful of sour cream to our bowls and sprinkle with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I made this recipe almost exactly as stated except that I don't know what shoepeg corn is, so I just added regular frozen corn. I also added about 1 tsp of cumin based on previous comments. Overall it wasn't very spicy, but my boyfriend and I enjoyed it very much. Very colourful, healthy and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This soup was okay. The name implies that the soup is spicy. It is not spicy at all. In fact we thought it was a bit bland. We all ate it but I don't think anyone thoroughly enjoyed it. Don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was a great dish. The children loved it as well as the hubby!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States