Spicy Black Bean and Corn Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rhonda
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
These veggie burgers turned out great. I followed the footnote and used only 2 teaspoons of chili powder. They weren't too spicy. I might kick it up to 3 teaspoons next time. The use of the flour helped give the burgers browned look and helped keep them together. I'll be making these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Spicy Black Bean & Corn Burger Haiku: "Spicy, spicy yum! Oops, I forgot the flour. But liked these a bunch!" I used all the ingredients as written, but usually when I make bean (black or garbanzo) I form them into patties, then freeze them, as they go right from freezer to hot skillet and hold together cooking beautifully. That being said, I must've missed the coating them in flour part, but still ended up really liking the flavor of these alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
My husband thinks this is much improved with 1/4 cup parmesan. I like these best as a slider, rather than a giant bean burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
WE REALLY ENJOY THIS RECIPE..MY HUSBAND THOUGHT THEY WERE MUCH BETTER THAN THE ONES WE'VE BOUGHT IN THE PAST FROM THE GROCERY STORE..PASSING THIS RECIPE TO SEVERAL OF MY FRIENDS...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
These turned out great and I liked that they didn't require egg (not a fan). I nixed the jalapeño and added spicy chili-garlic sauce (1tsp) and I used half the amount of flour (and I still had plenty left over. I also recommend making more or thinner patties, as this mixture for 4 makes huge patties. But overall, they were a huge hit with my husband (a devoted meat eater!) and also I didn't have cilantro, but I'm sure it would have been great with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This burger was amazing. I've been trying to steer away from beef and this was an outstanding alternative. I love the bites of crunchy corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Soto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I did like the flavor however I feel like it needs more beans next time... it seems like it wasnt proportional and I had a hard time keeping them together and I added less breadcrumbs but the texture was still off... over all I plan to make these again but with some small tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This recipe was delicious! I added a few of my own things like homemade fat-free tangy mayo and of course a huge pile of caramelized onions! :) It was also great the next day as lunch, and I will surely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I tried this recipe Saturday but added ground turkey and just threw all raw ingredients in with turkey and added an egg. No flour. It was wonderful!!! We only ate about half so the next day we made tacos with it. Healthy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
These were delicious, about on the edge of my spiciness tolerance with the two teaspoons chili powder, but still good - I might cut down to one or one and a half. The best value I could find on black beans was a 15.5oz. can and I think that was a good amount - they didn't hold together super well for me, though I refrigerated a couple for a few days and that seemed to help. I also used relatively little flour - more as-needed than measured out. I didn't have cilantro, but will get some next time I make these, as I will be making these again and recommend them. Maybe a more experienced cook will be able to sort out some of the issues I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States